We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunburst Ranch Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunburst Ranch

Sunburst Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caulfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunburst Ranch
Save
You added Sunburst Ranch to your Saves list
HCR 68, Box 140, Caulfield, MO 65626   |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunburst Ranch Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been floating the Norfolk River for 20 years. I have stayed in all campgrounds but one. This place has the nicest showers and grounds of them all. Justin, Amy and staff are just excellent, they are friendly, they take care of the campers..With additional property south of the main camp you can now float to Aletha Spring which is a blast since the water is so cool. Last fall we rented the river cabin we had 5 couples in it and it was nice because we almost had the campground to ourselves. I have stayed here for 9 years now and to me you just wont find a better place to go on the Norfork River.

Room Tip: Book the cabin in the woods for a romantic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. The staff is great, the owners are wonderful, the scenery is spectacular and the water is clean clear and beautiful. I have been coming here for four years and will not go anywhere else. I recommend this place to everyone I know.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Sunburst is seriously one of my favorite places I have ever stayed and I have stayed at campgrounds all over the country. Justin and Amy are great hosts and always accommodate us in any way they can. The campground is very friendly for people that want to fish, but don't come down expecting to have a quiet fishing trip on a weekend in the summer. The river can get a little rowdy on the weekends, but that isn't anything Sunburst can control.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been floating or canoeing the North Fork River for more than 20 years. I have stayed at various outfitters during that time. One was really nice and had a lot of amenities, but allowed crazy parties go on all night long even after the sheriff left.

Sunburst is not like the rest. They are family run and they live on site. They don't put up with stuff like that. They are fun people who have groups of all types coming through but ensure that all guests have a great time, just as long as they are not ruining it for others. Their facilities are clean, their equipment is top notch, the food is AWESOME and the guest service is unbeatable. That is why I have been going to Sunburst for the past several year and would never go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book early to reserve the river house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been going to Sunburst for several years. You could not ask for better hosts than Amy and Justin. The atmosphere is relaxed and I have never had a bad experience there. They are located in the middle of the most beautiful place on the planet that offers one of the best river floating and trout fishing experiences in the US. Their 2 newest cabins, The Landing and The Lodge are both really nice cabins on the river that over great views and lots of privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Every year in May we go here and stay for 3 to 4 days. The people that run this place Justin and Amy are the nicest people ever! They always go out of their way to accommodate their guests! We always have 10 to 20 people and there is never an issue! We will always go back to this campground. We love the river and the area. So beautiful and peaceful. The river is a lot of fun and changes just a bit every year! Crystal clear spring waters flow here and they are excellent for your float trip or fishing trip. We always pitch tents and have never stayed in one of the many cabins or houses they offer. But have always heard how nice they are! We drive 5 hours one way to get here every year and will keep doing so. We have stayed at 2 other places in the same area and this place beats them hands down! Cleanliness and service is how they succeed in business.. being the people they are, Justin & Amy is why we return every year!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have gone on yearly canoe trips with a group of about 15 people for about four years now, and this is our favorite place that we have ever gone! The staff here is so wonderful and helpful, and make the stay very enjoyable. Since it is family owned, they are happy to accommodate you with almost anything you could need. With our large group, we personally stayed in an RV, while there were some people in the sleeper cabins, the cabin on the hill, and the rental RVs they have on site. We loved every place! The RV sites in the trees (by their RV's that you can rent) are very well shaded, with your back end basically looking at the woods. The rental RVs do not have slide outs, but they are still spacious and very clean. The cabin on the hill was probably my favorite site, as it is far away from other people and is well shaded in the woods. It was also a very cool place to stay in general. The sleeper cabins were basic, without the kitchen or bathroom of the cabin on the hill, but they were also clean and had air conditioning. As far as I know, the tent campers had no problems with noise, although they usually don't stay in the main tenting area closest to the river. We usually take the bus up the river and float back to Sunburst, which is a fantastic float. Make sure to stop and jump in the cold springs near the beginning of the trip! There is also a float from Sunburst down to Dawt Mill, where a Sunburst worker would come and pick you up when you were done. This was a shorter trip, but there were also some cold springs near the end and a FANTASTIC rope swing right before you get to Dawt Mil. Both trips are fantastic! You can also rent tubes at Sunburst and float down their short stretch of the North Fork, which is a fun thing to do on the days that you aren't canoeing. Speaking of the river, since it is fed by the cold springs throughout the river, the water is always nice and cold. It feels great during those hot summer months! Bathhouses aren't fantastic, but are serviceable. Never used them much since we have the bathroom in our RV that we used most of the time. Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay and to float. Looking forward to going back for many more years!

Room Tip: The cabin on the hill is excellent! The sleeper cabins are a solid basic choice, as are the rental R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunburst Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Ranch

Address: HCR 68, Box 140, Caulfield, MO 65626
Location: United States > Missouri > Caulfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Caulfield
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunburst Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.