We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice State Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring River State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roaring River State Park
Save
You added Roaring River State Park to your Saves list
Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Missouri
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Nice State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Trout fishing is the biggest draw but Roaring River State Park is a great place to camp and hike.

There are trails of varying lengths throughout the park. The camping is nice but no water hookups. We have utilized the pool in the summer and found it to be clean and never crowded.

We've not stayed in the lodge but it looks nice and the restaurant, while nothing fancy, is not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've been a semi-regular visitor to the park for more than 30 years and it never disappoints. The lodge is beautiful, the rooms large, quiet and comfortable ( especially ones with balconies) and the views of the trout stream are spectacular.

Also take advantage of the numerous hiking trails.

Make sure to walk or drive upstream from the lodge to visit the trout hatchery and fresh water spring that produces millions of gallons each day.

Verizon cell coverage is good down in the hollow. AT&T subscribers will have to make the trek out of the valley to get a signal.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This state park is a great place to take your family on a beautiful day. There is no charge to enter and plenty to do. You can view fish in the hatchery, wade in the river, choose from many trails to hike, and sometimes even listen to live music. If you wish to pay, the trout fishing is great, as well as the camping. If you don't want others around, camping in the early spring (before March 1) is pretty quiet. I took my camper down and wasn't anywhere near another camper. Roaring River offers many activities for everyone!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We love roaring river. I have been going there since I was a little girl. We have camped and stayed in the cabins. Very peaceful, we love to hike and we feed the fish every year. We also love to fish. I think it is a great place for any outdoor family!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

OK, this Missouri state park is right along a state highway that many travelers use as a shortcut from the Rogers, AR. area and/or Cassville area to get over to Branson. Just driving by you don't think there's much there....but that is NOT the case. Pull over and check it out for about an hour at least!!! This is an old state park with lots of history. It even has a gorgeous lodge ran by the state that you can stay in!!!! Who knew?? There's a trout hatchery there which is very interesting and you can walk right up and feed the trout and even "pet" them. There's a huge natural spring that feeds the hatchery, there's several great and scenic hiking trails, there's a state park grocery store there, great pull through and tent campsites there, cabins to rent along the Roaring River.....I mean I couldn't believe it once I stopped and started asking staff questions. This is a truly little hidden secret for a day trip or even and extended camping/fishing trip. Check it out!!

Room Tip: Get online to track down information for staying at the lodge there at the Roaring River State Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is a little remote, but for trout fishers it is lovely. I found the trout hatchery interesting and had a nice lunch at the lodge. Didn't spend the night, but the lodge public space was inviting. There is plenty of space for campers and tents. The main thing is trout fishing in the spring fed river and there were plenty of people enjoying the day, Much of the park and hatchery are the work of the 1930's CCC and the work is enduring and attractive today. For me, it was a pleasant day trip from Eureka Springs Arkansas.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Inn looks very nice and the lobby and restaurant were fine. There is only 1 wait person taking orders and serving, but for the 4 times we ate there, did their best and the food was hot, good and priced very reasonably. We checked in and dropped our bags and went fishing, getting back to settle in the room after dinner, too bad because we didn't notice the bathroom had not been cleaned until that time. The sink and counter hadn't been wiped down and still had soap scum and coffee rings on them, the mirror behind the door (handicap room 109, I'm pretty sure hadn't been cleaned in months because you couldn't see yourself in it. I took a washcloth and wiped a corner with water and confirmed that. The toilet had urine on the side and the bathtub had hair and toilet paper in it (noticed when I filled it for a bath and saw it floating on top) lucky for me the drain wouldn't hold water so it kept draining to empty and I just ran the shower. I wore socks that nite and figured the next morning the maid would take care of it all. The tip envelope said 2 maids worked there, but we only saw one and all she did for the 4 days was take the old towels and trash out. And the towels, they had strings hanging on them and were so frayed that some actually had holes in them big enough to slip 2-3 fingers through. I would consider these off white stiff, thin, worn out towels perfect to wash your car with, not to hang in a lodge for guest to use.

The 2nd day wasn't any different, more towels and empty trash, that was it. There was a flyer that said to call right away if the service wasn't satisfactory, had I noticed the dirty bathroom when we checked in I would have called the desk right then. The bedding was clean and the dresser/desks were not dusty, so looked like living area was ok and the mattress was fine. However, the heat lamp in bathroom didn't work and the light switch for the lamps didn't work (had to turn on/off for all 3 at base of each. I did report this to the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roaring River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River State Park

Address: Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625
Location: United States > Missouri > Cassville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cassville
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Roaring River State Park Hotel Cassville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.