We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 W. Central, Carthage, MO 64836-1020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Carthage, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a fire at our house and stayed at the Econo Lodge for just over a month. The staff was great and went out of their way to accomodate us and our two dogs. Breakfast was great, our room was clean, and the microwave and fridge were clean and worked well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay their again.

Room Tip: ground floor on the west side was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joplin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I was here for 49 days and I don't think there was a single day I was unhappy with anything here.
The staff is awesome and they all treat you like family. My room was clean, smelled good all the time even though I was near some smoking rooms. Was it the Hilton? No, but then again I wasn't paying for the Hilton. I enjoyed my time there and will enthusiastically stay here again. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Never have seen a dirtier or smellier place. Was scared to put my dog on the carpet. Smelled so bad. Air was on 66 and still warm in room. Front door would not open with a card , was told it could not be fixed until next shift came on duty. Grim on microwave and fridge. Looked like poop on carpet. Big stain on loveseat. This was a suite. We got our money back and left. Went to super8 in Lamar

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Windows are there for looks and to keep rain out but not much more, had zero sound deadning ability and this hotel is right off the "expressway". Furniture in room was dirty, laid towels over the seats so I did not have to sit on them.

Lobby and breakfast area reek of cigarette smoke. Since the wi-fi in the NE Building was not working the whole time I was there, was forced to sit in the lobby/breakfast area to work...smelled like I was sitting in a bar. Wi Fi was not reliable. Front desk said they would reset the router, but still could not get access in hotel room.

If I was a smoker, I probably would not have noticed the smell in the lobby, hallways, or rooms...but my non smoking room still smelled like smoke...maybe because the staff smokes in the laundry area where they are washing all the sheets, towels, blankets.

Bright spots, friendly helpful staff, access to highway 71/96, inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

As is said " u get what u pay for" but sometimes u get more than that and as per my experience this place does live up to this exception. It was clean, roomy, well organized, well maintained and the icing on cake with the staff not only courteous but willingly helpful. For the price, location & amenities, don't know if it can get any better than this anywhere else. Hope this helps any future travelers.

Room Tip: Talk to the desk clerk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel before. This time was very bad. Neither the wifi or the ice machine worked. The desk clerk could not resolve either issue. Breakfast was not good. The carpet had cigarette burns. Find another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011 via mobile

Kimmie the front lady person is very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Room was clean. Its close to plenty of restaurants. Its was worth every penny. Only complaint would be our hotel door. It was hard to get open.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1441 W. Central, Carthage, MO 64836-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carthage
Carthage Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.