We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowell Davis, Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Oak II

Red Oak II
Carthage, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Carthage
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Lowell Davis, Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have known about Red Oak ll for years. This weekend my wife and I finally got to see it. What a great place. We walked around, took pictures and petted the dogs. Yes there are dogs at Red Oak ll, but they are all friendly and a big part of the greeting/tour committee. We loved the artwork and the imagination of the art. We met the turkeys. They were a lot of fun watching fluff their feathers and standing their ground. They can really strut their stuff. The buildings are really neat. It is quite the town. When going to visit plan on taking some time. Go there, get out of your car, walk around and take things in. Don't forget your camera. Stop and pet the dogs. Talk to the turkeys. Thank you Lowell Davis for Red Oak ll. By the way, if you are curious, Red Oak is east of Red Oak ll.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarcoxie, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place to take grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved the beautiful walk around this small town created by Lowell Davis. We enjoyed the great buildings and works of art he created. even had some turkeys follow us around.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visiting really neat things close to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is one of the neatest places I've been. Takes you back into the older, quietier and healthier days of yore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Wish the buildings were still open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have loved Red Oak II for over 20 years and even got married in the little church there. What a great place to come and step back in time. I wish the school. blacksmith, general store, and the black hen were all still open. I come back every time I visit family.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Neat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had to seek out directions to this place from several people as we could not locate it using our mobile electronic devices; and there are few signs. Nevertheless, it is a really neat town re-creation. Unfortunately, on the day we visited the temp was in the mid 90's and none of the buildings were open. Maybe they never are. Had the day been cooler we would have enjoyed walking around more than we did this day. Some have said this is a great photo-stop and I agree.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Oak II also viewed

 

Been to Red Oak II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Oak II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.