We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Little Town to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Oak II

Red Oak II
Carthage, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Carthage
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Merced
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Fun Little Town to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was here back in 1992 with my mom when the II was just started. The artist that did that fascinating fountain out of every imaginable faucet lives there. I had the great pleasure of talking with him. he is very nice and took time with my husband and me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great place to walk around and enjoy all the great little buildings. Great place for pictures. They do take donations. Our children loved it. They had ducks, peacock and dogs running around the older buildings. Nicely set up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Point
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Takes you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this was a wonderful unexpected find on our road trip down route 66, whom ever has done this has put alot of time,effort and money into this place, you can drive around and look or get out an walk around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were lucky enough to visit the owner in his home...right there among Red Oak homes. Visited, listen to his stories, toured his home and took pictures. Cute little place. Take the kids..don't rush yourself. Great place to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weird and Wacky Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a very entertaining place to tour. It is also a residential neighborhood, so you can't just barge into any house you like, but there are quite a few places that allow for stopping. This is an artist colony that seems to expanding to include non-artists as well. One of my favorite features is the child care arrangements. Looking forward to the upcoming restaurant opening there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Oak II also viewed

 

Been to Red Oak II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Oak II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.