We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And we only stopped on the forecourt because we were lost!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boots Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boots Court Motel
107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Carthage B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“And we only stopped on the forecourt because we were lost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's true. My husband and I pulled up on to the forecourt to work out where we were on Route 66 when we were invited in to look around and see all the work that is going on to restore the property to it's original elegance. We spent an hour being shown round and sharing stories about our experiences on Route 66. It was magical! A real find on our journey!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
That happens a lot! We are always thrilled to show our little treasure to passers-by - and many of them stay if the timing is right! Thanks for being one of those who stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a really lovely find on Rt. 66. The little motel has been restored to, I believe 1949, so they do have air conditioning, but they don't have television. Each room is lovely and clean. They work hard to give you a special experience. When we opened the door of our room, they had the old fashioned radio playing songs from the 40's. It was so lovely. I loved the chenille covers on the bed, and the passion of everyone who worked there. Carthage is a very tiny little town, but also very special. I encourage you to stay at Boots and talk to Ron about the history of the place. They were able to give us a lot of great suggestions of things to see in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We really appreciate that our guests take the time to give us feedback on their experience. We may not always respond to them, but we do always read them. Comments are a big help to let us know what our guests like (and don't like) about their stay at the Boots. We look forward to being your hosts again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was so happy to find this place. I wanted to stay 2 nights, but the Marian days and so many people in town, so I stayed only one night.
It is nice place at coners route 66 and 71. (That why they charge 66 for one bed room and 71 dollars for 2 beds room).
It is nice to see the old route, old radio with old music. No TV. The room decorate well.
Debbie Dee is a very good manager and knowledge about the area and route 66. Thanks a lot to Debie for the information.

Room Tip: I stay 2 beds room in the back. It is quieter. By the way, you may hear the train at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Boots Motel
Cute! Everything so well done and thought out – from the lamp to the radio, to the clock and bedspread and rugs and monogrammed towels to the pictures on the wall and the wire hangers in the closet! We didn’t miss the TV and did crosswords on the web at night. Internet was good, but we couldn’t access it the morning until around 7. Let me tell you…..this place is SPOTLESS. I have never seen anything like it and would like the cleaning people to give seminars on the fine art of cleaning all across this fine land of dirty hotels. The wood floors just shined, the small bathroom was so clean, everything was clean. My only complaint is that there was something that bothered my allergies. It didn’t bother anyone but me, but I did take a lot of allergy support. I didn’t know if it was perfumed cleaning supplies or a musty smell. I honestly think the entire state of Missouri must have a musty smell in the summer! But we all slept well and enjoyed it so much. If you are in to Route 66 or the 30’s or just want an interesting place to stay for a night – It is a good place to stop!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! We always appreciate those. We also always appreciate constructive comments. We are aware of the occasional "musty" smell and have tried very hard to track that down and eliminate it. Its source is elusive. The building was subjected to smokers from the time it was constructed in 1946 until we purchased it in 2011, and some of that has likely permeated the fabric - wood is notorious for that. One of our guests suggested sealing the insides of the drawers in the built-in vanities, which was a remedy that had not occurred to us, so we will try that this winter when we have fewer guests and see if it does the trick. We ARE fanatical about cleanliness, so we want to make sure the Boots smells as clean as it is. Thanks for staying at the Boots! We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Boots for three days while we visited the town and relatives. Debi is the neatest lady to talk to. She has so much knowledge of the town and the motel. She is a delight. She handles the whole place by herself so if you arrive and can't find her, check the property.
We really got a feel for what motels and 'motor lodges' were like back in the forties.
For you youngers I'd advise you to get a hotel if you are not looking for historical places. There is no tv, access to wall plugs near the beds is not easy. But, if you want to hear 'Swap Shop' on an old 40's radio, this is the place. We loved it. Debi also let us know that we were in Clark Gable's room. If you don't know him, don't stay here.
The "Boots" is near restaurants of all kinds. If you go, tell Debi we said hi! Don't let the first set of buildings fool you. The motel is in great shape. She is working hard to get them 'show and stay' ready again.

Room Tip: Make a reservation. There are limited rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We welcome those that appreciate the historic ambiance as well as those who are just looking for something different. We have found that guests who stay here don't miss the television at all and say it is relaxing to not have one for a night or two. We do have rooms that Clark Gable DIDN'T stay in (as far as we know), so even guests who don't know who he is are welcomed. We look forward to being your hosts again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checotah, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just recently stayed at the Boots Motel. We loved everything about it from the wood floors with all of the character it adds to the room to the wonderful tiled bathroom!. Debbie Dee was the greatest manager. Very friendly and very willing to share all of the history of the Boots Motel. I would recommend Boots to any and everyone traveling through Carthage. We will return again and again! Thank you for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
It was just a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much for the kind words about our efforts. Our aim at Boots Court is to make your trip better than you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very friendly people! Debbie Dee is the kind of manager every hotel/motel should have. Wonderful warm hearted woman, who really enjoys telling us about the motel and it's history. Great ambiance, and very nice restored rooms.
Thank you so much for having us...!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boots Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boots Court Motel

Address: 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836
Location: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boots Motel is an iconic historic motel on Route 66, at the intersection of historic U.S. Route 66 and U.S. Route 71. It features two buildings built in 1939 and 1946 in the Streamlined Moderne style. Neglected for years, it is currently being restored to its 1940s appearance. Five rooms in the 1946 building are now completed and ready for occupancy. They feature spacious rooms with the original hardwood floors, ceramic tile bathrooms with shower stalls, and built-in vanity dressers. They are individually decorated and furnished with period furnishings such as chenille bedspreads and 1940s-style furniture,and some have the original round mirrors still installed over the dressing tables. There are no televisions because television was not available in the Carthage area until the mid-1950s, but, as originally advertised, there is "a radio in every room," and the motel does offer free WiFi. Each room is individually heated and air conditioned, just as advertised in the 1940s. Experience a time when room service delivered your ice to your room and your room key fit into an actual lock! We also have 5 carports to protect guests vehicles from weather. Welcome back to the 1940s at the Boots Court! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boots Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boots Court Motel to your Saves list