We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
101 Cape West Pkwy, Cape Girardeau, MO 63701-8418
573-335-6889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 121 Restaurants in Cape Girardeau
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
East Prairie, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Used to be our favorite restaurant in Cape, but no longer. Visited on Labor Day, and was very disappointed. Started out with a caesar salad. Some of the croutons were not fresh, and many pieces of the lettuce were slightly brown around the edges. The usual brown bread was served and it was stone cold and suffered from sitting out somewhere. My dish was the chicken on the "Barbie" with unlimited shrimp, and Aussie fries on the side. Chicken was bland, but the first choice of shrimp was good. Steamed vegetables were not the hot steamy selection we were used to. Aussie fries suffered from sitting too long before being served. Second choice of shrimp was selected, and it was fried basically almost bait shrimp in batter, covered with a hot sauce. Waste of time and shrimp. Wife got a platter with chicken fingers and coconut shrimp. Chicken fingers had no flavor, but the coconut shrimp were the usual excellent. Wife's sweet potatoe fries were way over salted. The only really enjoyable part of this dinner was the new chocolate milkshakes. Don't know what chocolate they use in these, but it was fantastic.
Was it an off day for the kitchen? The restaurant had very few patrons, so there wasn't any reason for the off quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visit Outback restaurants regularly when I travel for work. Over the last ten years I've been to practically all of them in the Midwest. This particular location has been consistently the worst in food quality. My last visit was truly 'my last visit'. The server and the manager were polite and attentive but honestly, if there is anyway to screw up a hamburger, this place will do it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service is ok, food is below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have eaten at quite a few Outback Steakhouse's and this was the worst I have been to. The salad was full of rotten greens, the steaks were not cooked to our liking and the baked potatoes were not cooked all the way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The service was okay when we first arrived but downhill from there. My Mom and her boyfriend ordered Porterhouse steaks which appeared to be nothing more than T-bones. We had a table full of people so you would assume that if you bring a small loaf of bread we will immediately ask you for maybe 2 more. Not only was there no military discount but waitress even made a smirk when I asked about it. Not going to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I was immediately disappointed in the amount of food on my plate despite the more expensive price tag, but...was amazed at the wonderful taste of my food. The tiny piece of Mahi fish I had was amazing. The shrimp and scallops had a great flavor also. I would go back for the seafood if nothing else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Cape Girardeau, MO
 
Cape Girardeau, MO
Cape Girardeau, MO
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.