We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle Casino Cape Girardeau

Isle Casino Cape Girardeau
777 N Main St, Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
+1 573-290-3017
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Isle Casino Cape Girardeau is a state of the art gaming and entertainment destination located in historic Cape Girardeau, Missouri. The casino offers approximately 900 slot machines and 21 table games including roulette, craps, blackjack and poker. Extend the action with exciting promotions, entertainment, and five restaurants to tempt your palate. Get winning!
Dexter, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Typical casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is your tyical casino, but it is the closest casino to us, so we make the best of it. My boyfriend plays poker and he always seems to do well and I spend a lot of time on the penny slots without getting bored. They have valet parking, but we have never had a problem parking the car ourselves. I'm not a fan of the buffet, but we will eat it if we have a voucher or have earned enough points to pay for it. It's not worth the $26 to me.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but offers little”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Parking is fine; service is fine.
The Buffet is $26.00 per person and for that price what you get is disappointing to say the least.
The selection is poor. Hardly anything to choose from if you're at all health conscience. The Prime Rib was tough and loaded with fat. The Ribs were so fat laden that they were not even edible. They do not offer chicken wings!! What buffet doesn't even offer chicken wings?
The only thing that was really good was the apple pie.
The pulled barbecue pork was not bad either. String beans were decent, although loaded down in butter.
Next we went to the coffee bar. Um….. calling it any sort of coffee bar or coffee shop is almost hysterical. There are two cappuccino machines behind the counter that the servers pour instant cappuccinos from. I would say they are like the ones you see in most gas stations, but the cappuccino machines in most gas stations are actually of higher quality and offer more flavours.
You can pour your own medium grade quality coffee in small styrofoam cup that they will happily charge you $2.50 for. Isle wins the prize for the most expensive small cup of coffee I've had in a long time.
Apparently, they just do not get it. This is rural Missouri. You can't have poor quality food for high prices in this part of the country and expect any repeat business.
Drinks are expensive in the bar and service is just "ok". The band was good - apparently they import top groups from St. Louis and Kansas City. At least they had that going for them. And the place was very clean. Bathrooms were nice. They've got that part down. Now if they can just get a real coffee shop; stop charging $2.50 for cheap brewed coffee in styrofoam cups, and either drop the buffet price of raise the quality, maybe they'll have something good going here!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“somewhat small casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Casino is a little smokey, as someone else mentioned, but no more so than all the other casinos I've been in, unless it's totally non-smoking. Noise level doesn't seem any higher than all the others to me either. Friday and Saturday buffet is all-you-can-eat crab legs at a very reasonal price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scenic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Scenic view over Mississippi while dining. Outdoor fire pits to keep you warm! Lots of nearby shopping in historic downtown.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“PLeasant Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I enjoyed a very nice meal with some friends in the restaurant at the casino. The food was tasty and very well presented and the service was very good. The one disappointment was that the kitchen closed before we were offered a sweet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle Casino Cape Girardeau also viewed

 

Been to Isle Casino Cape Girardeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle Casino Cape Girardeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.