We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Giotto B + B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haus Giotto B + B to your Saves list
Haus Giotto B + B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 De Kelders B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an immaculate and beautiful house in a quiet residential area. Lovely views of the ocean and within walking distance of a lovely cliff walk to caves and a spectacular beach. Gina and Otto were perfect. Friendly, helpful and very polite. They booked our shark diving trip and our restaurant on our first night. They recommended where to go and what to see. Room was spotless and to a very high standard and breakfast was great. highly recommended and we would stay again.
The only minor issue we had was with the balcony. It is a beautiful large shared balcony, set up with a separate table and chairs outside each of the 2 units that open onto it. This should work fine in theory but unfortunately some people are a bit rude and we had our balcony furniture taken away by a large group of germans staying with the people in the room next door. This meant we could not sit outside on our last night. If we had been staying longer, we would have made a fuss about this but we didn't want the hassle. It may be worth asking guests not to remove other guests outside furniture or have a small divider on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at Haus Giotto last year, having turned up late on spec & Gina managed to find a little room for us & squeeze us in.

This year I planned ahead in the knowledge that they have far better rooms & that we would be heading this way again.

We got a front facing room with shared balcony, cooking facilities & all the necessary equipment.

We booked for 2 nights but stayed for one more. A few of the B&Bs in de Kelders have a sea view, great for whale watching, but Haus Giotto is only a matter of minutes walk from the coast & probably one of the best spots for land based whale watching in the world.

As has been mentioned elsewhere both Gina & Otto are more than helpful & put themselves out for their guests - I think they very much enjoy the company.

The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts quite up to standard & the rates are very favourable. If a sea view is not important to you, you could do very much worse than Haus Giotto.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Gina and Otto are fabulous hosts and we enjoyed our stay (which unfortunately was for one night only) greatly. The house is conveniently located close to the coastal cliffs in Gansbaai, with nearby access to a walking trail.

The room was very nice and tidy and we had the possibility to sit outside on a terrace, breakfast was very good and served in a friendly atmosphere. This short stay belongs to the definite memories of our recent trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A simply wonderful experience. The owners, Gina and Otto, were so thoughtful and welcoming; they helped us plan our whale-watching walks, lent us bird and flower books and advised us of all the best local places to visit. Gina and her friend even invited us to join them on a wonderful walk over a nearby private nature reserve, to explore the amazing Fynbos flowers.
The whole house is beautiful and our room was light, spacious and luxuriously furnished with a picture window and balcony. We could see whales in the distance, from our balcony. The breakfasts were excellent, with fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, warm fresh bread and toast and a choice of cooked breakfast. As we expressed interest in trying local food, on our last morning Gina even cooked us a sweet South African sorghum porridge, which was delicious.
Just ask Gina and Otto, if there's anything you want to know about the area, booking whale-watching or shark-diving cruises, places to eat out, etc, etc. - they love the Whale Coast and are very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for three nights. The Guest House was lovely, and situated in a quiet residential area. Our room was large, nicely decorated and had superb views. Breakfast was delicious. Gina and Otto went out of their way to be helpful and made us feel very welcome. They were happy to advise on places to eat and things to see in the area. Gina even booked our whale-watching trip which was fantastic. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a wonderful guest house in De Kelders with superb hosts. Room was beautiful. Otto went out of his way to walk me along the cliffs and made every attempt to get us into the cave, but to no avail, the water was just too high. Gina is a wealth of information and has such a lovely personality. I will definately return. THANK YOU FOR YOUR WARM HOSPITALITY!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

As the author of "Adventure Hikes in the Cape Peninsula" and "Off the Beaten Track", I stayed here with three friends while doing a review of the Perlemoen Trail. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared by Otto while Gina gave us information about the area. Freshly brewed filter coffee and orange juice washed down eggs of our choice,after freshly chopped fruit salad with muesli and yogurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Giotto B + B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Giotto B + B

Address: 81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > De Kelders
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Kelders
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Giotto B + B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gina and Otto would love to welcome you to "Haus Giotto", a small and intimate B&B in the peaceful village of De Kelders. Haus Giotto has three suites - each with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge area, kitchenette and balcony. You're a three minute walk from the ocean with its cliffs, caves, coastal paths and beaches overlooking Walker Bay, one of the world's premier locations for land-based whale watching. Close by you have fynbos hikes in the mountains with bird watching, the world's best shark diving and local ecotours and much more. Any assistance you require during your holiday will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haus Giotto B + B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Giotto B + B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.