We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perlemoen Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Giotto B + B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Haus Giotto B + B to your Saves list
Haus Giotto B + B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 De Kelders B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perlemoen Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

As the author of "Adventure Hikes in the Cape Peninsula" and "Off the Beaten Track", I stayed here with three friends while doing a review of the Perlemoen Trail. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared by Otto while Gina gave us information about the area. Freshly brewed filter coffee and orange juice washed down eggs of our choice,after freshly chopped fruit salad with muesli and yogurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Lovely place, friendly people, great location. Stayed here with friends while doing the Perlemoen Trail. Otto joined us on all the hikes and shared his knowledge of all the seacaves in the area.

Room Tip: All look great. Also kid's rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Haus Giotto Guest House. The room was immaculately clean and also spacious, with microwave and small kitchen corner and nice terrace outside. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was great. The house is situated in a nice residential location, with views of the sea. Unfortunately we were in the wrong season to spot whales but we will definetely come back. Thank you Gina and Otto for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

De Kelders is a very quiet neighbourhood after the hustle and bustle of ... anywhere! Gina and Otto were extremely friendly and helpful hosts, giving us guidance on the local eateries and what the area had to offer in general and we were only sad that we had so little time there as we had to leave very early next morning (before breakfast!) to rendezvous in Kleinsbaai for some shark diving. Gina and Otto were there to wave us off at 6.30am!!

We weren't there during the whale season but the peace and tranquillity of the area was evident from the moment the car engine stopped and the relaxed nature with which Gina and Otto carried themselves was a reflection of the area. Their dog was very good-natured too!

The room was spacious, clean and had a very well-equipped kitchen, ideal for those wanting a self-catering stay (apart from the provided breakfast). We just didn't have enough time there to really appreciate our surroundings but ... we know a good B & B when we see one!

We hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moordrecht
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed one night at Haus Giotto, but we wished we had more accomodations like this in South Africa. The rooms are complete, clean, tasteful furnished and well situated. Nice restaurants are close and from the balcony whales can be seen (jumping!!).

Gina and Otto are very friendly and helpful, so your stay in Gansbaai will be as pleasant as possible.

Don't hesitate...just book this accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I booked Haus Giotto last minute and they were available to accommodate us, no problem. They are perfect location if you are going shark diving in Gansbaai or if you are going whale watching in Hermanus. Their home is lovely, well kept, and very clean. They gave us great directions and advice on what to see/do in the area. We got in very late and they were both up to greet us, which was very sweet. The only recommendation I have is to remind your guests that a window might be open...we had no idea the window in our room was open and froze all night - my poor husband got a cold :( But this is probably more our fault, by getting there late and not realizing the window was open. We highly recommend staying here - the owners and property are truly great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a great stay!. It is a new B&B with a lovely couple who owns the place. Really good value for the price. We loved the walk along the cost just a couple of minutes from the house and we saw a huge amount of whales. The rooms a really tidy and we appriciated all the nice extra's.

Room Tip: all rooms are nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Giotto B + B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Giotto B + B

Address: 81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > De Kelders
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Kelders
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Giotto B + B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gina and Otto would love to welcome you to "Haus Giotto", a small and intimate B&B in the peaceful village of De Kelders. Haus Giotto has three suites - each with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge area, kitchenette and balcony. You're a three minute walk from the ocean with its cliffs, caves, coastal paths and beaches overlooking Walker Bay, one of the world's premier locations for land-based whale watching. Close by you have fynbos hikes in the mountains with bird watching, the world's best shark diving and local ecotours and much more. Any assistance you require during your holiday will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haus Giotto B + B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Giotto B + B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.