We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You're Near Ha Ha, Great Place to See” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Ha Tonka State Park

Ha Ha Tonka State Park
1491 State Rd. D, Camdenton, MO 65020
573-346-2986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Camdenton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imposing architecture and breathtaking scenery combine to make Ha Ha Tonka State Park one of Missouri’s most treasured spots. Located on the Lake of the Ozarks, the park features the stone ruins of a turn-of-the-20th-century castle built by a prominent Kansas City businessman high atop a bluff. More than 15 miles of trails traverse the park, leading visitors to sinkholes, natural bridges, caves and down to the lake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If You're Near Ha Ha, Great Place to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was extremely impressed with Ha Ha Tonka State Park. Free, lots of trail choices, and very scenic. Nice castle and other remains...great trails, water features, hawks, friendly and informative staff, informative signage, and lots of parking near trail heads. I wouldn't go too far out of my way for this, but if you are anywhere near Camdenton (we were staying in Rocky Mount), this state park is a great place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    48
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Ozarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I can't agree more with the recent posts about Ha Ha Tonka. It is a fun and free destination while visiting the Lake of the Ozarks with a variety of things to do for the whole family. Trails of all types with interesting scenic discoveries along the way. I visited with an 80 year old in good shape for her age and she had no trouble getting around to all of the major sites within the park and we were able to do it all within a couple of hours. The park is on the Lake of the Ozarks and it appeared that you might be able to come by boat, dock and enjoy the trails. See the earlier reviews for some great tips.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots to do at this beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although I have been to the Lake of the Ozarks area many times I had not visited this lovely park until last weekend! Stop at the very nice Visitor Center first to get a nap and ask the helpful staff any questions, pick up a postcard or T shirt. Choose your activity from many hiking trails at different lengths and levels, or head to the lake to swim or fish. We chose a small hike to the Castle ruins overlooking a bluff with a gorgeous view of the lake. Built in 1905 by a wealthy businessman, it burned down several years later, leaving a beautiful but eerie stone ruins. After that we took another hike to the Springs, crystal deep blue waters in a forest setting. Great park and we will definitely go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trails, bats, beaches, a castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The trails and castle were so amazing. We saw so many birds, animals and flowers on our hike. We loved the castle and its history. We are not outdoorsy really but discovered hiking was so fun and discovering the bridges and trails was fantastic. At dusk you can sit and see the bats emerge from the caves and see awesome sunsets. We saw very little of this pro but old love to return. So beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Something for anyone and everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ha Ha Tonka State Park is right off 54 right before the last bridge in Camdenton. There is a lot to do here, and something for everyone, including children. There are trails ranging from the super easy to the very difficult and dangerous. I recommend the castle ruins and Spring Trail. The Castle ruins is a short, easy hike from the parking lot, and the views are incredible! They don't want you walking around inside the ruins and there is a steep fine if you get caught, so avoid doing that. The castle ruins has a trail called the Coliseum that runs in a circle and is very easy. This trail also connects with Spring Trail. I recommend driving to the designated parking area for Spring Trail though. After a rather long walk along a beautiful natural spring, which also has an island to visit along the way, this trail becomes quite demanding. To reconnect with the castle trail, you will ascend 315 steps...and 315 more going down! Great work out! Be sure to bring your camera when you visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha Ha Tonka State Park also viewed

Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Eldon, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Ha Ha Tonka State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Ha Tonka State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.