We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic under the New Team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pack Horse Inn,

The Pack Horse Inn,
Ellingham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ellingham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic under the New Team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food here comes from a different planet compared to a year ago. Linny Simpson has taken over with support from her whole family and they've done a complete makeover inside the pub and also what comes out of the kitchen. We ate there on Frdiay night - the atmosphere was great and we had a fantastic king prawn tagliatelli , sea bass and steak/ale pie with exceptionally good veg.

If you've been dissapointed in the past, give this idyllic little village pub another try

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food in classic village location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visited here on Thursday night after visiting Ellingham Hall next door, having seen the signs on the road heading into Ellingham.
After speaking to the (I think new) owners, it has just been completely refurbed. I would say to a high standard, the décor is quite modern but the pub retains its original feel and stretches back quite a way.
The food was very tasty and arrived in good time, the nut taglliatelle was amazing and scampi tasty, and mushy peas! I also squeezed in a dessert of apple pie and cream which, if not home made, certainly tasted like it was.
All in, a great experience and we will be back with family soon. And also found they do accommodation too which is good for our wedding guests as our wedding is next door in the Hall! Go, you will enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at The Pack Horse Inn,, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you and your family over your wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab Sunday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We just had Sunday lunch at the Pack Horse Inn, it was delicious, I would highly recommended it to everyone. I had smoked haddock fishcake and roast pork which was just the best I've ever had in a pub. My other half had kipper pate and pheasant gratin which was also delicious. Proper home cooking. Fabulous refurbishment. Very friendly landlady!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathill
1 review
“Completely revamped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Smart and contemporary without losing the traditional pub ambience. Much improved dining room area and food is now of high quality.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Proper Pub with excellent grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Friendly good value real village pub with large open fire to ensure a warm welcome to great food and drink.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pack Horse Inn, also viewed

Belford, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Pack Horse Inn,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pack Horse Inn,, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.