We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second beer, maybe. Guess not.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Street Grill

Maple Street Grill
105 N Maple St, Buffalo, MO
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: American
Description: 105 N Maple St Buffalo, MO 65622 (417) 345-5045
Restaurant details
Description: 105 N Maple St Buffalo, MO 65622 (417) 345-5045
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Second beer, maybe. Guess not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Maple Street Grill is in a neat old building just off the square. I stopped in on a Friday evening. It was clean and bright. Some neon, some John Wayne, some Marilyn. You get it, old stuff. It has character. They have beer, not on tap, but in bottles. I got my first beer pretty fast. The waitress was quick to take my order, but that was when things went into slow motion. I ordered the Maple Street Bad Boy with fries. They have a tenderloin on the menu, but I found out that it is no match for the "world's largest tenderloin". I had my first beer almost drank before my food showed up and I was nursing it like it was my only beer. The burger was real good and flavorful. The fries seemed over seasoned, maybe just over salted. No one checked on me. No one asked how my food tasted. No second beer. Now I know why I was nursing the first one. It truly was my only beer. The bright side is I saved some money not getting a second beer and next to no service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“located on the square at least 5 minutes from U.S. 65 and service very slow; beer available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you're on any type of time schedule and/or just passing through town on U.S 65 and looking for a quick bite to eat, it's probably best to eat elsewhere. This place is on the square and at least 5 minutes away from U.S. 65, and then on top of that, it took them at least 35 minutes to bring out our food at lunch today. When they did, the "big fish sandwich" was pretty good as were the fries--not great but pretty good. The portions were huge. Atmosphere of this place was dark but pleasant and unlike a lot of places in mid and southern Missouri, they served beer here, including my favorite, Blue Moon. Overall, prices were reasonable but no great value. Am going to give it 3 stars in large part due to the slow service. Given how uncrowded they were today, the long delay seemed pretty unreasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wife Loves the Coleslaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great place to eat in Buffalo, Mo. Located on the Northwest corner of the square. Only open Wednesday thru Saturday but darn good food. Have Blue Plate Specials which include dessert. My wife really loves the coleslaw and always gets an order to go. This time we ate in the bar section which has a tv for the sports viewers. Food and Service was EXCELLENT!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easily the best place in Buffalo, Missouri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I ate at Maple Street Grill last night. Huge menu. On week nights it is open until 9:00 p.m. The patty melt and fries were very good. Service was good. Parking was at the front door. There is a smoking side and a nonsmoking side. The bar looked like a good place to hang out. The waitress said that on Friday and Saturday nights the bar is packed. Two iced teas, two sandwiches, fries, and the total bill was approximately $20.00. I don't recall whether or not breakfast is served. A newspaper article indicates that the restaurant has been open for thirty years. We will go back if we are in Buffalo or driving through.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty darned good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had the opportunity to eat at Maple Street Grill last night after traveling to Buffalo for a funeral visitation. The decor was okay, the bar area is really cool with an old bar and lots of brick. Our server was good . I ordered the pork tenderloin sandwich as did my sister and brother in law. It was delicious. Seemed to be hand breaded and the grilled bun was really good. I would definitely eat here again. My only complaint was that they were very slow in getting our food to us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Maple Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.