We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somebody should have thought about that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Branson

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Branson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort Branson
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1984 State Highway 165, Branson, MO 65616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off & $20 Meal Credit
Ranked #28 of 160 hotels in Branson
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Somebody should have thought about that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's a very appealing hotel room by cleanliness and it has up to date features but a reason I wanted to stay here is that it often rains in branson, so I liked the indoor water park access. The problem is that the indoor part is connected to the outdoor part by a metal door. So guess what? If there is lightning in the area, they have to shut down both parts. Another draw back is that they have nothing playing in their theater right now. The staff was very friendly and understood my issue with the pools being closed.

Room Tip: Just pray for no lightning if your wanting to use the indoor area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    47
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
110
13
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

They state throughout your stay that they "strive for fives", and while it was a very nice stay, it was short of a 5 star experience. I will start off with our positives of this resort.
Location: We really enjoy the location of this resort, easy to get to the strip, silver dollar city, and the landing, but still far enough off the beaten path to avoid most traffic.
Rooms: The rooms remind me of a Marriott that was rehabbed in the mid 2000's with a muted gold and dark red color scheme, its pleasant and done tastefully. Bath towels are of good quality and plenty of pillows on the bed. They also provided nice sized pool towels which was great!
Amenity areas: The only amenity area we used was the "splashatorium" and it was perfect. We have an infant, and I was able to sit inside with the infant while my husband played in the outdoor area with our older child.

Now for the cons:
The staff is very friendly and upfront seem to be accommodating, but in my experience they over promise and under deliver. Upon check-in (we arrived early) we asked for a crib (they provide a pack n' play which was fine) to be delivered to the room for our baby, the woman who helped us assured us that was not a problem and there would be one in the room for us when it was ready. Our room was not ready yet, but they assigned us a room number, and told us they would call us in about an hour to come pick up the keys.
Three hours later I called the hotel with my screaming infant ready for a nap, and asked if my room was ready, only to be told it was indeed ready. This was almost more frustrating than being told it wasn't ready. It left me wondering how long I had been juggling my fussy baby waiting for them to call, when they never did.
When we arrived back at the hotel to pick up our keys it was now close to check-in time and there were about 5 people ahead of us and two people working the front desk. Their check-in process is not a very quick one, while you feel well taken care of, if there are people in line with quick requests, they are left waiting while the others go through their processes of being told what is where within the resort. Yet, the strange thing is they then send you to the concierge to get your parking pass, who will then tell you the same information all over again.
When we arrived to the room, our pack n' play requested at check-in (now almost 4 hours prior) was still not in the room. So we put our baby to sleep on our bed, and at some point they dropped the pack n play outside our bedroom door.

When we were leaving for the evening for dinner I went by the front desk to ask if they offered turn down service (thinking they could set up the pack n' play at the same time) and got a blank stare from the lady at the desk. So I just asked them to set up the pack n' play while we were out.

All in all it was a nice hotel, with nice amenities. The rooms were nice, staff was nice enough, but if they "strive for fives" like they advertise I would say they fall a little short.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The venue was out standing and the staff very helpful. They not only made my stay there very comfortable, but all my guest felt like they were treated like celebrities. I also used the Welks Theater and could not have found a better location to hold my show. Big shout out to all the staff you guys rock !!!

Greg Byers
President AFPA

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice. easy parking too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is our 2nd trip to the Welk Resorts for a full week of vacation. We stayed at Timber Ridge Condo Pine Resort. The surroundings of this resort is absolutely beautiful; and the patio is a great way to start your morning off or end your evening; it is very peaceful and again the scenery is very enjoyable. The rooms are great; very spacious; and supplied with everything that you need to make your stay great; including a full kitchen with all the pots and pans you need. As previous mentioned we have stayed here in the past; and did not experience an issue with cleanliness; however upon return the room appeared to be very clean as we have learned to expect from the Welk Resorts; however we did uncover a few goldfish left behind from a previous guest...and then the trash wasn't emptied; as well as a couple of cups that were left in the dishwasher; and no hand soap for the bathrooms. We called the front desk and they sent someone up right away with a vacuum and a gift certificate for a free pizza and beverages. The splash and swimming area is great; the kids love it; and it's nice and clean and sunny! My husband, son, and daughter love the water slide; and I can enjoy my day as well by reading a book in the beautiful lounging area around the pool. As in most resorts they have activities; but it all carries a cost; which is understandable as it cost the resort money; but they can be a little on the expensive side as well $4 for sundae's and $3 per smore....just something to factor in if you plan on staying for an extended period. The only complaint I have about the resort is they need more comfortable beds; my husband and I both wake every morning with either stiff necks or a backache from the mattress....a little too firm for us; looking forward to our own bed again soon! But as always we have enjoyed our time here at the resort; the put put golf is very small; and could be updated...as it's the same since we were here six years ago....but it's free and a good way an hour with your family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My son, daughter-in-law, 2 year old grandson and I planned our trip to Branson for May 2 through May 5, 2014. We took days going over all hotels, motels and condos in the area. We took a chance on the Welk Resort basically due to the price and Splash-a-torium for the grandson. The room was spacious enough for all 4 of us and very clean. The staff and management was very attentive to our needs and questions. We have come to Branson, Mo. for over the past 30 years and have stayed in many questionable accommodations. We all agreed that this was the best hotel we had ever stayed. We would not hesitate to come back again! Pamela, Pittsburg Kansas

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We just wanted to say, “Thank You so much!” for the gracious words. It is so gratifying to have a seasoned Branson vacationer like yourself express the kind of sentiments you did, and we really appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was not our first choice but, the property looked like it had potential to suit our three day stay in Branson. After checking in we walked around the property and were really disappointed with the so called "mini golf course". Everything in the "theater" building was out of service, locked up and smelled musty. Then we walked through the "Splashatorium" and were disappointed with the total lack of available seating. The refreshment stand had canned soda available for $2.00 each and a couple of equally high priced snack items. I would not recommend this property unless you are looking for a 2 star experience.

Room Tip: This property is maybe a 2 star location at best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you did not see the value of your stay with us.
The mini golf course is a nine hole course free to our guests. It gets a lot of use and our guests really seem to enjoy it, especially considering it is free.
Our 2,200 seat theatre hosts many special events through the year, but this summer we are not presenting any shows. We are sorry there was not an event during your stay to enjoy.
The Splash-A-Torium, our indoor/outdoor water attraction is a very busy place during the summer. Families love to spend the day taking advantage of all of the fun our 117 ft. slide and Splash toys offer. They also take advantage of the convenience that our onsite restaurant and lounge offers in the way of food and drink poolside service. We apologize if during your stay the Splash-A Torium was too busy for your liking.
We believe that we offer guests tremendous value: from the Splash-A-Torium, to our planned, daily activities and activities center, game room, state of the art fitness center, newly renovated rooms and hotel, onsite, full service restaurant with room and poolside service, free mini golf, and the beautiful, natural surroundings, most of our guests appreciate all there is to do, and the quality of the resort and how that goes well beyond your average stay anywhere else. But what we are most proud of is the passion our associates have to provide gracious service to our guests. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations, as our desire is to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the second year that I have stayed here. The grandchildren requested that we stay here again, and I was so glad that they did. You will not find a better place to stay then the Welk Resort in Branson. This resorts main priority is to take care of there cutomers, from check in to check out. I could not imagine staying anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Hearing from guests like you is what makes our resort such a fulfilling place to work and a place to experience the joy of helping families like yourself, create great vacation memories to cherish for a lifetime. We hope you’ll come back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resort Branson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Branson

Address: 1984 State Highway 165, Branson, MO 65616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#7 Business Hotel in Branson
#31 Family Hotel in Branson
#44 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Branson 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort Branson is your first class destination resort offering lodging, newly renovated hotel accommodations, dining, daily planned activities, fitness center, mini golf, and engaging game room. The Splash-A-Torium is Branson's newest heated indoor water attraction open year round and features a 117-foot water slide, spa, and kids' splash zone. Seasonally open is outdoor pool, spa, and kids' splash zone. Only 3 miles to Hwy 76 Entertainment and 8 miles to Silver Dollar City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Welk Resort Branson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort Branson Hotel Branson
Welk Hotel Branson
Branson Welk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Branson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.