We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Branson

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Branson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort Branson
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1984 State Highway 165, Branson, MO 65616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off & $20 Meal Credit
Ranked #28 of 160 hotels in Branson
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. Let me first tell you how we ended up here. This was our first Branson trip so i researched for weeks. We originally booked at the Grand Country inn. We have a 7 year old son, so we wanted to stay somewhere that had a lot to do for kids. We arrived Friday night at Midnight, we walked in the hotel and Ran out. It was the most disgusting place i have ever seen. Blood stains and poop stains everywhere, on the carpet, the bed, the couch. It was old and ran down, with a lot of thugs hanging out in the parking lot. We demanded a full refund and then left. We then called our second choice, Welk. They were booked up for the night but were able to get us a room for the remainder of our stay, Saturday night, Sunday night, and Monday. Hotel check in was at 4 but after a very bad night and some much needed rest, we showed up early at noon, they were able to go ahead and let us check in. The check in girl was Super nice, she even let us extend our check-out time until noon! When we walked in the room, we were Super pleased. It was beautiful! Nice big bathroom. A desk, coffee pot, mini fridge, flat screen TV, everything you need. The water park was nice, a indoor pool with one big slide, an indoor hot tub, bathrooms. The outside had a pool and a splash pad for the smaller kids, just a lot of squirters and buckets dumping water. There is a snack bar, and the bar will deliver anything you want out to the pool. Food, drinks, alcohol. They also have a game room with 5 video games its in the laundry room. Then the clubhouse has a pool table, Air hockey, Foosball, and an Xbox with a big screen. They also have activities every 2 hours. We did a build a bear workshop. It was great, $15 for an animal and $8 for clothes. They have all kinds of activity's, Face painting, cannon ball contest, dance contest, chalk art, candy suishie maker. 80% are free but some do cost, but not a lot. This was a great to stay. We were very pleased. It was quiet and off the strip. Love it!!

Room Tip: I generally find that upstairs, away from the elevator and ice machines are quiet anywhere you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    46
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
108
13
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon arrival the desk clerk told us the computers were down and she could not verify our reservation, (even though we were pre-paid thru Expedia & had a copy of the reservation #). She told us she'd take our DL & CC and make a photocopy to process later!) Then another employee came over to say computers were back on! I then told the clerk we'd requested a King Deluxe room & talked to a Welk Resort employee, (named VALERIE), who assured us the room change was made & notated on the reservation but couldn't give me a room assignment until check-in! Well guess what? No notation was apparently made OR the desk clerk couldn't find it, OR she didn't care to look for it, OR the computer went been down again at that point of the check-in process! At any rate, the room we'd requested for our Anniversary get away wasn't made available... (notice I said wasn't made available NOT that there wasn't one available! The 1st clerk consulted with another employee... presumably a manager/supervisor, who proceeded to explain to me how they had to keep "those" rooms available for the guest who had booked them & since mine was booked incorrectly I couldn't be accommodated!). I took her statement to mean either she didn't think my wife & I were "important" enough to try & accommodate us or she just didn't give a damn! Either way, it was "just our tough luck, take it or leave it!"
So we get to our two queen bed room and settle in for the evening when housekeeping knocks on our door with the extra BLANKETS we'd requested!! (The problem is we didn't request anything... a strange knock on the door after we'd gone to bed was very dis-settling for the wife!) So I called the front desk & was told by the clerk, "my mistake... we got the room# wrong". The next morning we called the front desk & requested clean linens, we never got the fresh linens until my wife & I stripped the bed & I collared a very nice housekeeper named "RUBEN". He immediately stopped what he was doing & came to make up our room! (Thanks for your kindness Ruben)
So you'd think we would have had enough humiliation/frustration with this establishment by now but apparently we are gluttons for punishment because we went across the parking lot to the "CLUBHOUSE". We knew that we couldn't use the Splash-atorium w/o paying extra, but from the information we were handed during the laborious check-in process, we understood that resort amenities included access to the clubhouse fun room & fitness center! Well... maybe not! We were questioned by the staff if we were "owners" & where were we staying... We were told the clubhouse was for the owners but if we were interested in becoming owners we could sign up for the tour! (Interesting market strategy... treat your guest like crap, then entice them with becoming owners!). Let me be clear: WE WERE NEVER ASKED TO LEAVE, but the not so subtle message was that we were not welcome there!
So we tucked our tails between our legs & shuffled back across the parking lot to finish out our anniversary get away not knowing what kind of disappointment to expect next! We expected better from the Welk Resort chain, but this location really hit a sour not for us. As experienced travelers all across the country & especially as Wyndham rewards club customers, this experience is certainly NOT what we expected!

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground level, two queen bed room was cramped and lots of foot traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so sorry there was a communication issue with your reservation.
According to our records, you booked a Double Queen room without our Splash-A-Torium resort package, through a third party booking site. As per all requests for a change in room type from the initial reservation room type, we try and accommodate our guests in every instance. Our standard procedure is to note the reservation and when rooms are assigned, accommodate the request, but our reservationists are suppose to let our guests know that this is only a request, and not a confirmation. If that was not the case, and you believed the reservation was confirmed, we sincerely apologize. We will let our reservationists see this review and let them know the importance of communicating to our guests that room type and special request changes are not confirmed.
When you arrived, we could not accommodate your request, because we were sold out of our King rooms. Other guests had made the specific and confirmed reservation for a King room, so we had to assign them the room they booked. We hope you understand it was not a question of having rooms and not wanting to give you a king room: it was simply that you did not book a king room, and others did. Your reservation was noted, and we would have been glad to change your reservation to a king room, but there were none to be had. We realize that this was a big disappointment, and for that we are truly sorry. We are not in the business of making our guests upset, or not fulfilling any request we can. If you felt like we did not care, we are very sorry. We hope you understand that it was not an issue of importance, but of honoring our reservations.
We would like to apologize for knocking on your door at night. It was an honest mistake, and we are sorry we disturbed your rest. We have spoken to housekeeping and the communication will be improved.
We sell a Splash-A-Torium Resort package that includes our indoor/outdoor water attraction, hot tubs, Splash toys, activities center, game room and fitness room. We also sell our hotel rooms without the package. That was the reservation you made. We do offer a smaller fitness room and an outdoor pool for guests who do not want the Resort package. There is an area of the Clubhouse, our “Owners Lounge”, that is specifically reserved for our Owners and Exchangers with the Lodges at Timber Ridge, so our associates sometimes ask if they do not recognize a guest in the area. Their intent is to inform and help if they can, not make you feel unwelcome. We are sorry you felt not welcome.
We recognize that there were some communication issues with your stay: from the reservation process to your departure. We are very sorry you did not experience what the majority of our guests experience, and we will use your review as a tool for our associates to use in better communicating information to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I stayed at Welk in June. The staff was not very friendly. They seemed distracted and irritated by all of the kids that were around, but after that we had a pleasant stay. Clean facility, lots to do and not too far out of the way!

There is no continental breakfast and the price is very steep, but its DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first stay at Welk Resort, we stay in the hotel part. It was great, room like new. Bathroom very clean, carpet like new, bed comfortable,but had white comforters,had to make sure kids didn`t waist anything on them. I had a 12 yr old and 5 yr with us. We alll loved this place.
Enjoyed the Splashatorium and breakfast was great. We also went to The Price Is Right, we had a ball, my husband spinned the wheel. We will be going back next year. Need to know how to swim a little to get on slide.

Room Tip: The whole family will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay at the Welk Resort. It is a nice clean facility with friendly staff and a fun atmosphere. The rates are reasonable and the beds were comfortable.

We only utilized the restaurant for the breakfast buffet, which was good and had a fairly broad variety. I can eat a lot, but still got full before sampling all the things I wanted to get to. The price was not bad either... I think it was $6 for kids and $8 for adults, so comparable to something like an IHOP breakfast.

We enjoyed the Splash-a-torium too. It's not really an indoor waterpark like some other resorts, but more of just an elaborate pool area with a big, cool slide and a splash park. We still really liked it, though. The big slide was fun, and the pool, spanning indoors and outdoors, was large enough to lounge in without feeling crowded... at least with the volume of people while we were there. There are also roomy hot tubs both indoors and out.

The only downside for us was the 10:00AM check-out time. That's a little too early for out taste, but we lined up another activity to do before leaving Branson and made the most of it.

We had a fun time at the Welk Resort and will definitely look into it for future trips to Branson, although depending on our plans, the early check-out time will have to be considered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We’d like to thank you for your very gracious review. We share every review with our associates, and comments like yours are very gratifying.
We would like to let you know that we take any request for a later check-out on a case by case basis. We are always glad to accommodate any reasonable request by our guests for early arrival or late check-out when we are able to. If there is ever a need during a future stay, please inform our associates at the front desk.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a nice family resort. Very pleasant atmosphere and the buildings and grounds were lovely. Staff was great, had no problems with checking in or out, AC problem looked at quickly and housekeeping issues resolved easily. As our reviewers have said the rooms are small so we expected that. What I didn't consider was eating in the room, not really workable for a family. There is a desk, a desk chair and the beds. There is, however a nice lounge area with tables and a tv on the lower level and I saw families eating there. Operation hours are early, the restaurant closes very early, as do most restaurants in Branson. We had problems our first night finding something to eat as it was close to 9 pm. The Dick Clark place was still open because of a show though. And the activity center, game room and pools close at 10. In most parts of the country, like ours, that's pretty early for summer vacation time. Plus the pool was closed down early our first evening due to lightening strikes in the area. I am not clear on why the indoor pool and hot tub couldn't be open. The game room is a pool table and an air hockey table, we had expected much more. We wanted to get breakfast one morning at the on site restaurant and bring it back to our room. That seemed to present a big problem for some weird reason. It would be really helpful if one was able to buy at least sandwiches there after 8 pm. There is a small nice playground in the back, but there are no lights so unless your children go to bed as soon as it gets dark, they are out of luck. There is a really nice large lawn area in the back, with the "free" pool, the playground and off a ways there is the mini golf area. There is also a splendid covered and lighted promenade that runs the whole length of the hotel to the restaurant and the theatre. Nice gardens all over the grounds. The splashatorium is overpriced, although nice enough. Outdoor water activities are very limited and were not all working when we were there. There is a nice hot tub outside. The pool runs from outside and then into the covered building. Inside there is a second hot tub and the water slide area. My adult son declared the water slide the best ever! His 6 yr old enjoyed it too. Generally the hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. I did find that the tub was grimy as was the tub mat. And the corners of the bathroom floor weren't very clean. Otherwise the room was fine. The beds seem to be good quality but of the very firm type. Bedding was ok, but lacked any extra types of coverlets or spare blankets. I found the pillows to be thin, flattened too easily but I brought my own. The AC was a problem, the room was very hot on arrival and stayed that way for some hours. We always travel with small fans which eventually helped cool the room. What we found was the AC unit blows very cold air, but only for a very short distance. The TV, desk, frig and wireless were all fine. Housekeeping didn't get to our room until 5 pm the second day. And I had to ask for clean towels and coffee, but got them quickly enough. The trash cans and ice buckets here are super tiny. We did have trash overflow. And why oh why can't there be towel bars in the bathroom?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Branson, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review of your stay. We appreciate all of the great information you provided and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
We did want to provide some feedback on comments you made in your review.
We do close our restaurant after 8pm. We have found that a majority of our guests have eaten, or are out in Branson by then. New this year is the addition of The Market in our hotel lobby filled with snacks, beverages, and ice cream for guests to get a snack anytime they wish.
Our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs are connected by a central water conditioning system, and our indoor and outdoor sections of the pool are only separated by a door we close in the winter. Any electrical storms in the area are a threat to the safety of our guests, and so we close until the threat has passed.
Our Splash-A-Torium is included in our resort package, which includes the fitness center, game room, indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs, splash toys and free activities that take place in the facility. Our rate for the use of these facilities is $20 per day, per room.
Our sincere apologies regarding the issue with your air conditioner upon your arrival and for the later than normal room cleaning during your stay. We are glad to hear our staff took care of these challenges for you. We will forward your comments to those departments.
Finally, we are very thankful that you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure our associates see your comments, and hope you can come back soon and see how your review made a difference at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last October and really enjoyed it. The room was clean and comfortable. Rate was very reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful. It's a little out of the way, but that was great. We had to leave a day earlier than planned, but the manager did not charge us for that extra night we had reserved. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were there during the off season so there wasn't as much traffic and noise and I think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resort Branson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Branson

Address: 1984 State Highway 165, Branson, MO 65616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#7 Business Hotel in Branson
#31 Family Hotel in Branson
#44 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Branson 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort Branson is your first class destination resort offering lodging, newly renovated hotel accommodations, dining, daily planned activities, fitness center, mini golf, and engaging game room. The Splash-A-Torium is Branson's newest heated indoor water attraction open year round and features a 117-foot water slide, spa, and kids' splash zone. Seasonally open is outdoor pool, spa, and kids' splash zone. Only 3 miles to Hwy 76 Entertainment and 8 miles to Silver Dollar City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Welk Resort Branson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort Branson Hotel Branson
Welk Hotel Branson
Branson Welk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Branson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.