We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Chateau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Branson
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Chateau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a 5 night holiday stay with family at the Chateau....I had never been to Branson and not a big country music fan but loved our visit because of the Chateau. The Chateau is very pretty with some of the nicest staff anywhere. The hotel is lovely and very clean with a very laid back feeling. For the holidays the hotel is decked out in nice decorations. However the star here is the wonderful food. We ate many meals here from Brunch to Room Service to meals in The Library Bar and all were very good. I loved their avocado appetizers and their beef entrees were outstanding. It was not very crowded as it was winter but I can only imagine what a wonderful respite this hotel would be in the thick of tourist season. We love the Chateau!

Room Tip: Very easy access for handicapped guests. Try the waffle at breakfast.....one of the best I have eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear sp8Holly:

Please know it was our distinct pleasure having you as our guests during the Christmas season. It is also as equally as important to know that your stay was a pleasant one and that we were able to meet if not exceed your expectations. Your patronage is will never be take for granted and we look forward to the opportunity of being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    172
    100
    29
    21
See reviews for
162
246
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great staff, from the minute we arrived(Reed), beautifully decorated, delicious food, and an excellent Christmas Champagne Brunch on Christmas Day accented by a lovely Piano performance. Our Christmas Eve dinner at The Grill was excellent as well. A great place for couples, families with children or even solo guests. Quiet and beautiful. Just can't say enough good things..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I take my family to Branson about once a year. I fell in love with Chateau on the Lake a few years ago when my husband and I did the Branson Belle dinner cruise and caught a glimpse of the hotel from the lake. Every time we came back to Branson, I considered staying at the Chateau on the Lake, but it was never in our budget. Recently, a deal to Chateau on the Lake was offered through Groupon.com and I snatched it up! We took our son and two nieces. We were greeted by a wonderful staff that didn't treat us any different because we were there on a Groupon deal. (I've experienced that other places) The kids had a great time and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. They especially loved "cookies and milk with Lucky the Bear", which was a wonderful touch. We all loved the way the hotel looked and the cleanliness of the room. We ate breakfast at the buffet and although it was a little pricey for us, it was well worth it! Thank you Chateau on the Lake!

Room Tip: Our lake-view double room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We fully enjoyed our stay at the Chateau. We have been coming to Branson for years and stayed at several different hotels and the Chateau has been the best so far. Beautiful and spacious rooms, great Christmas decorations in the lobby. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Eufaula_J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay. It is always nice to receive feedback from our guests. I am pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you plan on returning. Until then all the best in the coming year and we will be here to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for nearly a week in the beginning of December. On arrival I was very well taken care of, and told a lot of where to go and what to see. Furhter down the stay the reception was not more than polite. The room was nice with access to a lovely garden, though there was no chairs and no table outside which was a pitty. There is an old fashoned feeling over the room, as not newly decorated. The bathroom was clean and good. Though the cleaning of the room was not perfect.
The breakfast was not outstanding, quite ordinary, I missed nice cheese, some nice meat cuts such as ham. To serve jam and butter in small packages is not the way it should be done.
The gym was not very well equipped
In summary an ordinary hotel, a place to stay if you need a room to sleep and do not need any kind of extras.

Room Tip: ground floor, garden access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear MOLSWE:

Your review is much appreciated and your feedback is most welcome. It is important to us for it allows us the opportunity to follow up and take corrective measures where we are able. We thank you for selecting the Chateau and despite our own shortcomings, we trust your stay in Branson was a pleasant one.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lovely hotel with various areas serving food, prices at breakfast pastry shop reasonable, cafe for dinner also reasonable. Nice indoor pool & hot tub, nice large theater showing two different films at two times during the day, free-nice theater area. View of lake is beautiful. We did not stay in the suite or bedroom with couch living area, but saw those rooms and they easily accommodate a family of four or perhaps five. We stayed in king room with mountain view, our view was mountains but largely also of roof top of part of the hotel. We were on the 8th floor which was away from the lobby traffic and any noise that may occur there.
The stay is expensive but compared to similar lodging and being a four star accommodation- very nice.. Both gift shops had half price and purchased items at good price.
Would recommend this as a must do location in Branson.

Room Tip: they have rooms on the 3rd floor with 'limited view' that are the least expensive. Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a very nice property; however, be careful. We were given a lower floor room at the back of the building. It was loud - both from adjoining rooms (the walls are fairly thin) and from the mechanical equipment in the back (the heat/air units).

The wireless Internet signal was very weak, and faded in-and-out. Of course, it costs $9.95 per day.

The restaurant had good food, but was pricey - not surprising, given the type of facility.

The spa was average, compared to other 'resort' type properties at which we've stayed.

Room Tip: Go for the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear CEboss:

I am sorry to learn that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. I will admit we do have a few rooms with a location that is not as desirable as many of our other rooms. When pricing these rooms the location is taken into consideration. As a matter of fact many, of us in the travel industry are faced with similar situations. Namely other hotels, cruise ships, airlines, etc.
Nevertheless, feedback is very important to use and is most welcomed for it allows us the opportunity to take corrective measures where possible. Despite our shortcomings, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Chateau in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Branson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#13 Business Hotel in Branson
#28 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa,Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort and spa. Nestled in the Ozark Mountains over-looking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake, yet only a short distance from nearby theaters, shopping, attractions and golf courses. One of the features of the resort is its 10 story atrium lobby complete with cascading waterfalls,lush plants and foliage. All guestrooms have hand finished textures walls in warm tones, comfortable Perfect Sleeper mattresses, down comforters, 37" flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi.Most of our guestrooms have balconies with lakefront, lakeview or moutain view exposure. Our award winning restaurant the Chateau Grille, has great food, great service and breath taking views of Table Rock Lake. Our #Sunday Brunch is Branson's best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.