We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 159 hotels in Branson
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights here. Great experience as always. Love the Christmas decorations and the beautiful gingerbread houses made by the hotel chefs. Staff is always first rate as is the hotel. Great place to relax and enjoy the Ozarks.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    156
    87
    24
    17
See reviews for
146
219
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and were a little bit wary due to the mixed reviews. Some of the reviews call the hotel old but this hotel is only about 25 years old. I know some people will kill me for this but it is way newer than the Waldorf or the Intercontinental (which I stayed at both) and in my opinion this hotel is every bit as nice. The rooms were big, the furnishingings were luxurious, the views are spectacular. The library room is phenomenal and the bartender makes perfect cocktails- we spent alot of time in this room:) but the real kicker for us was the service. EVERYONE went above and beyond. The valet parking cannot be more convenient and speedy. The food was very good but I will tell you a story that will make me want to stay here all of the time. This hotel takes pets and we brought our two little dogs. We were out shopping on black friday and the hotel called as another guest had complained about our dogs barking. This is unusual for our dogs to bark but there was alot of people staying in the hotel over thanksgiving so maybe they were just excited. Whatever the reason, I asked them to go check on them and maybe turn the tv on and shut the blinds as I thought this would settle them down. In about ten minutes my phone rang again and it was the concierge saying that they could not get them to stop barking so they just brought them down to the office!! When we arrived back later on that evening the woman in the front offices had walked them, talked to them, petted them, etc. I just cannot get over how good the hotel was to my dogs. They could have been really hateful over the situation but instead they were 100% customer centric in their approach to the problem. I highly recommend staying here and I will always when I visit the area! Thanks again to the Chateau and the staff for making my thanksgiving so wonderful.

Room Tip: third floor is for the pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family over the Thanksgiving Holiday. I was very dissapointed. The hotel bills itself as a fine hotel but the service is far below even a mediocre standard. The staff had so many failings I cannot list them all but here are a few: failure to open the door when you approach with bags, failure to move out of your way when you are walking (remarkable really - they just hold their ground and make you stop or work around them while they pass by), failure to include sheets and pillows for the pull out bed in my suite, failure to attend to the hot tub which was always too cold, failure to include all food ordered in my room service orders, failure to keep the informal restaurant open during the Thanksgiving brunch (couldn't even purchase a sandwich in the bar that day), failure to include regular coffee in the room (had decaf only - maid never corrected), the chef at breakfast consistently overcooked eggs and omeletes (every morning), overall failure to even try to show they are in the business of serving the hotel guests. Beyond the poor staff, the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The lumpy mattress had to be original to the hotel and was completely worn out.

On the brighter side of things, the hotel was very well decorated for the holiday. But, the appearance did not make up for the really poor service. If you are in the area you should stay at the Hilton at Branson Landing or Big Cedar Lodge. Big Cedar is not a hotel but its staff is far more accomodating than the Chateau and the amenities are far superior. I would not recommend statying at the Chateau and I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear TravelerBeyond UK:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your most recent stay. Based on your experiences it is obvious we failed your expectations at all service levels. Please know this is certainly not in keeping with our own service standards. Your feedback is appreciated and it will be shared with all respective departments. In turn corrective measures will be taken, with the hope that a repeat occurrence does not take place in the future.
Please accept our sincere apologies and I am hoping we will be given another opportunity in the near future, to make amends for our shortcomings.

Sincerely,
Stephen Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 23 wedding anniversary at the Chateau on the Lake. What a beautiful hotel it is! Our room was spacious, clean and the decor was elegant. We had a balcony overlooking the lake which was just beautiful! They decorated for Christmas while we were there and that was quite a treat! We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return some day soon!

Room Tip: Try the avacado fries...they were awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend in Branson and stay at the Chateau on the Lake Resort. Excellent staff and great rooms with views of Table Rock Lake. Great place to stay to avoid all the hustle and bustle of the downtown Branson crowds.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau for a couple nights while attending a conference in Branson. Overall, the hotel is beautiful, well kept, in a great location, etc. etc. The front desk staff was welcoming. The elevator are quick (glass elevators are always fun). The Christmas decor was nice, tasteful and not over done.

I will say that the room neither of the keys (mine or my wife's) worked well in the lock. We were struggling with them when a bellman came by. He told us we had to put it in and pull it out fast (which sometimes worked and sometimes did not).
Our room was somewhat noisy as we were above the cooling fans and receiving dock (on the North side). I should have known better (other reviews below mention this).
Also, wifi was not included in the room rate (this seems to be more and more typical of upper tier hotels. I happen to think it is ridiculous. $10/day per device, FYI

We might stay here again but it is unlikely unless it is part of a conference or group.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the North side, especially on lower floors (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawneetown, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Chateau the past two years and I can't say anything but good about it. The rooms were lovely, baths were clean, scenery was beautiful from the balcony, and the staff were
all pleasant and helpful, even opening the gift shop early for us last year as we were leaving early.
The hotel is decorated beautifully during the Christmas season. A very enjoyable stay, and we will
probably return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out toward the lake are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Branson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#13 Business Hotel in Branson
#27 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa,Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort and spa. Nestled in the Ozark Mountains over-looking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake, yet only a short distance from nearby theaters, shopping, attractions and golf courses. One of the features of the resort is its 10 story atrium lobby complete with cascading waterfalls,lush plants and foliage. All guestrooms have hand finished textures walls in warm tones, comfortable Perfect Sleeper mattresses, down comforters, 37" flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi.Most of our guestrooms have balconies with lakefront, lakeview or moutain view exposure. Our award winning restaurant the Chateau Grille, has great food, great service and breath taking views of Table Rock Lake. Our #Sunday Brunch is Branson's best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.