We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to take your family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dollar City's Wilderness

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Dollar City's Wilderness
Save
You added Silver Dollar City's Wilderness to your Saves list
5125 State Hwy. 265, Branson, MO 65616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Branson
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great place to take your family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Despite the fact that we spent eight, 100 degree plus days camping at The Wilderness, we had a great time. I will try to make this a start-to-finish review.

Reservations: There is a paid staff on duty until 10pm, so it is usually easy to reach a human to make reservations. They are very knowledgeable about the campsite sizes, locations and all other pertinent information regarding camping. They have water, electrical, and sewer available. The nightly prices and deposit fee are both very reasonable.

Our arrival: It was 105 degrees out, the check in was swift and our site was clean and ready to go. The office/store has about everything you can imagine related to camping necessities, so don't panic if you forgot butter or pancake mix, they have it and it's reasonably priced.

Campsite: The campsite was a clean hard packed rock pad. The hook-ups were located in a logical area, and they even have free cable television, (cable wires are available in the store). Here is where newcomers need to be advised, some of the sites are pushed up gravel pads, the back side of the pads drop down a big hill and there is not much room on the site other than the actual given dimensions. There was not much room on the site after setting up the camper, awning, and parking my truck across the front of the site, parallel to the road.

During our stay: After our check-in, we set up the travel trailer and headed to relax in the clean and refreshing pool next to the office/store. It was crowded, but that’s to be expected during such a heat wave. The pool was clean and the chemicals were checked very frequently during the day and evening, which has to be done when it’s so hot and sunny. One night, they closed the pool a half hour early because the chemicals were not right. The kids and I were bummed out, but it was assuring to know that they were taking such good care of the pool. During the day, there was a visible maintenance staff moving about the grounds. Our neighbor (I think he caused the problem,) has a sewer issue, and the maintenance staff was there quickly to fix the issue. By the way, most of the sites are well shaded by oak trees, a wonderful feature in a heat wave, but could be a little scary in high winds.

Restrooms/Showers: The bath facilities are super nice and super clean, never have I seen any like it in a campground before. The actual showers are large and private.

Location: Because the campground is owned by Silver Dollar City, there is a shuttle to Silver Dollar City, 3 times in the morning and returning 3 times in the afternoon, which is super convenient. Meanwhile, it’s only a mile or so to drive to the park. The campground is located on 265 bypass allowing access to all the back ways around Hwy 76 congestion. Whitewater is a simple 10 minute drive.

Final impressions: This campground is a great place for families or travelers interested in a quiet laid back facility with the side benefit of being located close to Silver Dollar City and all the other Branson attractions. There is no reason I can think of that should prevent a person from booking and enjoying a site here.

Room Tip: The have a good map of the campsites on their website, which can be accessed through Silver Dollar C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins here and just loved it. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom, "rustic" furnishings, nice big pool area..... The shower was TINY.... But it had great water pressure and loads of hot water. All of the staff were very friendly, the area was quiet...Just a great cute little place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burlington, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First trip to Branson, a last minute decision close to the holiday I wasn't sure where we'd end up. Wilderness replied to my email quicker than I anticipated, Mary K was very helpful on the phone and even returned my call when we were running behind schedule. The campground was exceptionally clean, as was the RV we stayed in for four nights. Everything we needed was provided, so I overpacked for no reason! The entire staff was friendly and helpful with my inquiries. As a single parent I want to make life long memories for my daughter. Know she and her friend had a great time. I particularly enjoyed the early morning hours of quiet and the sweet smell of pine. The shuttle to SDC is a great service. Everything is near, yet you wouldn't know it tucked away at the Wilderness. I can't say enough good about Wilderness, but definetely intend to return, and would reccommend this campground to anyone. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable and stress free!
G. Elmore

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Great place! Love that they offer free cable hookup to campers. Showers are amazing! Friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We love to go camping at The Wilderness. Any time we go camping in Branson, this is the place we call. Reasonable rates, and you won't find cleaner facilities at another campground. We haven't ever rented a cabin, and is why I rated the room section a 3, but those look nice as well. We also like the convenience of the free bus to SDC too. If you're looking for a great place to go camping in Branson, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Wilderness at Silver Dollar City is an excellent campground. My family and I spend 2 nights and 3 days there this past week and it was great. We camped in a tent and the campsites are extremely nice. The bathroom/showers were very clean and everything was well maintained. We will be staying there anytime we are going to Silver Dollar City. I highly recommend this Campground!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and i stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days! I LOVED our experience, very clean and very accomadating to everything we needed! right down the road from silver dollar city and not too far from the strip! LOVED our stay and we will rent a cabin here from now on our yearly visits to Branson! thank you so much to the staff at The Wilderness!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Dollar City's Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dollar City's Wilderness

Address: 5125 State Hwy. 265, Branson, MO 65616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilderness at Silver Dollar City located in Branson, Missouri offers couples and families cozy private log cabins and campsites with a remote lost-in-the-woods feeling. We're nestled just a few short minutes from shopping and theaters on HWY 76 along some of Branson's most popular attractions like Silver Dollar City, Showboat Branson Belle, White Water, Ride The Ducks, and The Dixie Stampede. A daily shuttle service is provided for your convenience.We strive to give our customers an authentic camping adventure, whether it's in the comforts of our full-service 50-amp RV sites, or in one of our hand-hewn rustic log cabins, made by the master craftsmen at nearby Silver Dollar City. Plus, Silver Dollar City season pass holders receive great discounts! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wilderness At Silver Dollar City Hotel Branson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dollar City's Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.