We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the beautiful cottages & Branson was much better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort to your Saves list
Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort
132 Cape Cod Drive, Branson, MO 65616   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Loved the beautiful cottages & Branson was much better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

When we told friends & family we were going to Branson, MO for our summer vacation we received everything from belly laughs to words of sympathy. Because our week was a time share exchange and a "done deal", we traveled on without high expectations. Well, the joke's on those Doubting Thomases who thought we were going to have a miserable week.

First, Stormy Point Village was great and in a very good location - off the beaten path, but just a few minutes drive to everything. It's on the far west of town and very close to beautiful Table Rock Lake. In fact, you can see the lake from top of the lighthouse located on the property. This lighthouse is 50 feet tall and 75 air conditioned steps will take you to the top where the view is worth every step my husband and I climbed.

We stayed in a 3-BR, 2-BA cottage. It was sparkling clean and brand new. The decor looked like it came out of a nautically-themed Potter Barn Store with bright reds, blues & yellows combined with white trim. Our bedroom had a dormer with 3 windows in it and the ceiling was covered in beaded board. I took photos of everything because I was inspired to do some re-decorating at home and wanted to remember the great ideas found throughout our cottage.

The kitchen had granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. Even the light fixtures and ceiling fans had an industrial look with the brushed nickel finish. We used the stacked washer & dryer in the laundry room several times.

The only down sides I could find with our accommodations were the fact that we were not able to have a handicapped accessible unit (we traveled with my 86-year-old mother-in-law) and the landscaping (sod/grass) stopped with the front yard with rocks & weeds for the sides and back yard.

The pools were nice - 1 baby pool, 1 outdoor pool, 1 outdoor Jacuzzi & 1 indoor pool. There was no-smoking at the pool or clubhouse which was very appealing to our family.

They had activities for all ages at the clubhouse every day. My 18-year-old daughter and I had Mary Kay facials which we LOVED! And my husband and I took ball-room dance lessons which were SO much fun!

We were able to purchase show tickets at the clubhouse for a rate that was even lower than using our AAA card for discounts. We went to see the Yakov Smirnoff Show which was a very funny and rewarding 2+ hour event. I highly recommend it. We also went to the Titanic exhibit - well presented and very sobering.

Another activity we really enjoyed was riding the DUCKs - on land and out into Table Rock Lake. This is a must-do attraction.

We ate almost all of our meals in the cottage - because I love to cook, even on vacation! One food stop we made was to the Dairy Queen and I was NOT impressed with the lack of hand washing mixed with handling money, etc. exhibited by the employees.

Our last night at Branson we drove east to Historic Branson and had supper at Garfield's - just OK, but the shops along the waterfront were lovely, clean and new. Everyone working in each shop we visited - without exception - was friendly and helpful. It was nice to experience Southern Hospitality in Missouri.

They also have a fire & water exhibit on the waterfront created by the same people that choreographed the dancing waters at the Bieligo (sp?) Hotel in Las Vegas.

Our family had a wonderful time in Branson. MO and would have stayed longer and taken in more shows if we had more time and more money.

The only down side I realized about our trip to Branson from East Tennessee was the long drive and the last half closest to Branson is not on the interstate. On the up side, the infrastructure of Branson was excellent with well marked and well maintained highways.

If you want to visit Branson, MO, don't let anyone discourage you with negative comments and go & have a great time like we did!

  • Liked — The cottages were new, clean & beautifully decorated.
  • Disliked — No landscaping on the sides or back yards.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    4
    7
    13
See reviews for
91
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The cottages at Stormy Point aren't bad, however when you look at the whole package the owners/management aren't delivering what they promised.

My wife and I first looked at Stormy Point 2 years ago. In the sales pitch we were told that the Cedar Point resort across the street from Stormy Point would be razed and converted to a beach and marina. It was supposed to be completed within 1 year. Well it has been 2 years and they Cedar Point resort is still taking reservations and there is still no beach. I also happened to hear that they are telling prospective buyers that Cedar Point demolition would start in June 2008. I would be very surprised that demolition starts within the next year.

In addition, we stayed at Stormy Point last year and was informed that wireless internet would be available in a couple of months. Well, it has been approximately 15 months and no internet.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixton WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We booked a trip at a trade show in Wisconsin for 3 day and 2 nights. They did as they had said 4 free show tickets $30.00 for food and 2 nights free if we went to the presentation. We were lucky and got Richard. We kept him there for 6 hrs asking questions so there is no suprises. We think they did a very good job. there was no high preasure. We are very pleased with our purchase. We are ready to go back ASAP.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast
  • Disliked — No Hair Dryer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

It seems like the management and ownership of the village are in dispute. There is supposed to be wifi in all of the rooms, but there isn't. The clubhouse is managed separately and it closed at 8:00 p.m.

It wasn't a welcoming experience by the check in staff.

I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

A relative of ours let us stay in their 2 bedroom unit, and it was super. Its less then 15 minutes from all the shows, and on a Sunday morning, some of the show's entertainers were their to do a demonstration, then give away and offer for sale discounted tickets. There are so many activities on site, and in Branson, that we did not rest till we returned home. On the next to the last day, we purchased a unit of our own with a float week every year. We have found it is very tradeable, and look forward to the new units that will be going in, as well as the resort down south where we will be able to split the weeks next year. It was much cheaper in price then the time Share resorts in Branson proper which are going for 60-70K which seem not much more then a glorified hotel's. These units are individual houses with space to walk, and the area is pretty quiet.

  • Liked — Remote, but close to activities
  • Disliked — Access roads under construction
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed at Stormy Point for a week over New Year's. The cottages were very quaint and comforable. The decor was pleasant and the unit was clean. The resort is new, clean, and the staff very accommodating. There is some construction going on, but we weren't bothered by the noise. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Very cute individual cottages
  • Disliked — Location is a bit out of the way, and road leading to the resort is narrow and winding.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadet, Missouri
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We bought a trip for 3 days/2 nights in Branson in a 4 star hotel with the agreement to tour the resort and ended up with a nightmare.
The hotel we were put up at was nasty and they wouldn't do anything about it. The 90 minute presentation lasted over 4 hours, even though
they knew we were not interested in it. Do not fall for their lies and empty promises.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort

Address: 132 Cape Cod Drive, Branson, MO 65616
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderfully scenic vacation resort is located on the shoreline of beautiful Table Rock Lake. From the spectacular location of Stormy Point Village to the exquisite New England style architecture, everything is here to ensure that your vacation leaves a lasting impression. 2, 3 and 4 bedroom cottages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Hotel Branson
Stormy Point Village Branson
Stormy Point Village Hotel Branson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormy Point Village a Summerwinds Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.