We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Save Saved
You added Southern Oaks Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, Branson, MO 65616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 159 hotels in Branson
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here on this our first,& not our last trip to Branson.We will be bac,& would stay here again.Nice big room,close to good shows & restraunts.Helpful staff-nice pool-nice sitting decks-recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Southern Oaks Inn. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know about your stay. It is very important to us that you have a pleasant stay with us during your visit to Branson. We are always striving to improve and we are very glad you intend to return for a visit Branson. We are also very proud of our staff and how they care about our guests and our hotel. We will be sure share your review our staff. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lovely place to stay.

Really nice staff, rooms were really clean. My stay was really pleasant. Had great brakfast, saw this hotel on tv show, wanted to try out and i don't regret. Pool was beautiful. Thank you !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the bread pudding during your stay. We will pass along your compliment to our staff. We are pleased that you found our staff to be helpful, and again, we are proud of our staff and how they care for our hotel and our guests so well. We are always working to make improvements that Anthony suggested and hope we can do much more in the future. Please come and visit us again here in Branson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The people at the desk were polite, but did not give good directions to the room and it was hard to find.The halls had a weird smell, nothing felt clean. The beds were not very comfortable and the bedding was just yuck! I am not a negative person and I try to always look for the good and well the only good thing about this place was the indoor pool. It looked to be the most kept up part of the hotel. At one point during our stay a water line busted, or so I am left to assume since no one addressed the problem. We woke up with no water!! We left to get breakfast because what they offer is not the greatest. When we returned the water was still off so we asked the front desk how long we should expect to be without water they said "hopefully not more than an hour" ... But when you are waiting to shower an hour can be a long time. No one even called to explain that there wouldn't be water for a while or offer any kind of compensation. for the inconvenience. It will not be a place that I choose to return to.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for write a review of your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are glad you found our front desk staff to be polite and we apologize that you had problems finding your room. In order to address this problem we will soon have a very nice property map to send with all our guests to make it easier to find their rooms. We have been able to update many of our rooms and we plan to continue making further updates. We hope you will be able to give us another try in the future. It is important to us that our guests have a pleasant stay. Again, thank you for your review and by all means return to Branson and the Ozarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Old TVs, worn out carpeting. Rooms are spacious and clean. If you are on the 1st floor - be prepared to hear every footstep from the room above!! Building are not connected, so if you need to go to the office you have to go outside!! BRRRRRRRRR!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are glad that you found your room spacious and clean, which is a top priority for our hotel. We want to let you know that we are always striving to make improvements that will add value to our customer's stay with us, such as a full hot breakfast in place of the previous continental breakfast and plan to continue to make more updates in the future. We hope you do return to be our guests again here in Branson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The breakfast here is simply one of the best,even had bread pudding. All the help is friendly and will help out in any way they can. The ladies doing the breakfast are the best. Great location, to go in any direction to the sites you want to see.

Room Tip: Get rooms that are close to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the bread pudding. We are very proud of our breakfast staff and the work they do to be sure our guests have a pleasant stay. We will pass your compliment on to our very deserving staff. It is important our guests have a pleasant stay while here in Branson and we hope you will be our guests again in the near future. Again, thank you for taking the time write a review for Southern Oaks Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This motel offers a punch card for everytime you spend a night with them. This was our 3rd year staying with them. I thought we would get our free night this time since we only had two punches left and had reserved for 4. But, no, they said next time. Besides the fact that the rate had increased $10.00 per night from the previous year. The only changes we noticed were a frig in the room and biscuits and gravy added to the continental breakfast. Also, I can see why the motel next door advertises pillowtop mattresses.
I checked the Silver Dollar City's website for tickets and then went to the front desk thinking we might get a discount, but, the motel wanted $4.00 per ticket more.
Pretty disappointed in the front desk service, but the rooms were very clean. Pool was clean and well maintained. Might stay there again, but I looked pretty hard at other places that we may stay at next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review and let us know about your stay with us. When a guest has a Guest Club Card that will fill during their stay we can take care of the free night at check-in. before the nights are paid. If the customer presents the card at check-out, after the room is paid, we punch out the card to give credit for their stay and the free night is used on their next visit. One of the reasons we do not give a refund after a stay is to avoid double charges from the credit card company. To avoid this we ask that the full Guest Club Card be presented at check-in.

The changes we have made this year include the addition of refrigerators to our updated rooms and some of our Traditional rooms. We have also now offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, which now includes eggs and sausage, along with the previous items on our menu of biscuits & gravy, donuts, cereal, cinnamon rolls, cereal, fruit bowl, oatmeal, toast, juice, milk, coffee and tea.

As a Hotel Lodging Partner with Silver Dollar City, we are able to offer our guests a special ticket price of Two Days for the Price of One at a rate of $62.34 with tax for adults, this is not offered on the website or at the ticket booth at the park. It is possible that a special price was being offered on the Silver Dollar City website for a one day pass during the week of your stay that may have been lower than our Two Days for the Price of One ticket. This is the only ticket that we are able to sell at the hotel and it is a good value for those that wish to go to Silver Dollar City more than one day during their stay but would not be able to use a Season Pass for the year.

We are sharing this information with our staff. We feel we have a great staff and they want to be sure our guests have a very pleasant and enjoyable stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We hope you will return again soon to be our guests in the future and come and enjoy a great time in Branson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravois Mills, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We come to Branson at least twice at year and love staying at Southern Oaks Inn. This time has been great as always. We love love love the veranda rooms and room 170 is now our favorite. Check in was smooth and friendly. The indoor pool is our granddaughters favorite thing. We are not big on breakfast but was glad it was there for us. It was good. Enjoyed the biscuits and gravy. All the staff was friendly and asked how are stay was. This hotel is off the main strip and we love not having to deal with all the traffic. Can't wait to return in the spring.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for your recent stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are very glad you had a great experience and enjoyed our Veranda Room and pool. We hope you will come and enjoy our breakfast with us again, we are glad to be able to offer a full hot breakfast for our guests. We have a great staff that works very hard and we will pass your compliments on to them.

We hope you will be able to return soon and enjoy a great time in Branson! We think this a great area in Branson and do find our guests like the easy access to all areas of shows and attractions. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Southern Oaks Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Address: 3295 Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, Branson, MO 65616
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 159 hotels in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Oaks Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Oaks Inn is located 4/10 of a mile east of 76 Country Music Blvd on Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, across from the Shoji Tabuchi Theater. Southern Oaks Inn is close to several shows including the Shoji Tabuchi Theater, the Sight and Sound Theater,IMAX Theater Complex, Pierce Arrow Theater, the Hamner Barber Theater, RFD-TV Theater, the Shepherd of the Hills Outdoor Drama, and about5 miles from Silver Dollar City.Restaurants nearby include: Paradise Grill and Steakhouse, Granny's Restaurant, McFarlands Restaurant, Golden Corral, Red Lobster, Taco Bell, Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, and IHOP. This location allows easy access to all shows, shopping and attractions.We offer many fine features designed to make your stay with us enjoyable. Some of these are:Large rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen bedsOutdoor entry and indoor corridor entry roomsVeranda Rooms with private balconies, refrigerator and microwaveIn-room King Jacuzzi rooms with microwave and refrigeratorFamily Suites with Two Private Queen bedrooms, Living area with a Queen Sofa Sleeper, dining table, microwave and refrigeratorHome Suite has two private bedrooms (one Queen and One King), bath with Shower/Jetted tub, full kitchen and laundry, dining and living area and private entrance.All rooms offer:In room coffee makers and hairdryersOutdoor and Indoor heated pools with Sun DecksSmoking and Non-smoking roomsColor TV with basic cable including ESPN, TNN, & The weather channel and RFD-TVCoin operated laundryFree local calls Free wireless InternetPlenty of level parkingATM on PropertyOr complimentary breakfast includes:Biscuits and gravy, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, three types of cereal, pastries, oatmeal, fruit bowl, toast, coffee, tea, three types of juice and milk. Our breakfast is served from 6:45 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Oaks Hotel Branson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Oaks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.