We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Hard Luck Diner

Mel's Hard Luck Diner
2800 West Highway 76, Branson, MO 65616
+1 417-332-0150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 292 Restaurants in Branson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Home of Branson's original singing servers. A 50s themed diner offering music from the decades of the 50s and 60s and on up to today. A variety of singing styles, pop, rock, showtunes, opera, gospel, country, etc. Food offerings include burgers, sandwiches, great salads, blue plate specials and save room for some of the best and biggest desserts to be found.
Coffeyville, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What do I say? I don't go so much for the food. It is just OK. But. . . .the service is wonderful and the songs are fun and entertaining. Even if you just stop for a snack, you will enjoy the wait staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    316
    119
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, LA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice change for a change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ate at Mel's Hard Luck Diner on December 31, 2013 and it was great. We liked the 50's diner theme. Really enjoyed the singing wait staff. 50's food was also great. The fully loaded burger hit the spot. It was the best meal we had in our 3 days in Branson. Will visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You got to try the Hawaiian burger and carrot cake with ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A classic 50s 60s restaurant with down home cooking. Lots of hometown Branson flavor along with good food and singing waiters and waitresses a must visit while in Branson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Mel's was near our hotel/Marriot Residence Inn, so we ate there 3 times. Awesome country singer, Michael Lee Jones, and the food (except for the hamburger) was great! Lasagna, butterfly shrimp, BLT. Waiters sing and are very friendly. CDs for sale of your favorite singers....Hard to imagine why some have escaped major stardom!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“50's soda shop with singing waiters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed ourselves at Mel's. The peanut butter banana sandwich was great and so was the chili burger. The salad was so so. The singing was very fun but the advertisements for their CDs was definitely over the top and distracting. Everything else was great so it still gets five stars.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Hard Luck Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Hard Luck Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.