We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Stop Every Trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Hard Luck Diner

Mel's Hard Luck Diner
2800 West Highway 76, Branson, MO 65616
417-332-0150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 314 Restaurants in Branson
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Tomah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We Stop Every Trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stop every trip. We have been coming since 1998 - Bernie, Kelly, Jason, Jimmy, Matt, Stephanie, Karen and all the staff are friendly talented people that make meal time one of the best shows in all of Branson. Burger and an a original chocolate malt are to die for - other menu options also very good.

A trip to Branson without Mel's would be sad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    289
    110
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur,Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best eating entertainment in Branson.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love this place for lunch of just a snack.
Awesome food and even better desserts. You will be entertained by some very awesome singers while you enjoy your meal. This is where some of Branson's Best entertainment starts !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner several times, the last time in July. The food is so good there and their prices are very reasonable. The singers (waiters or waitresses) are just great. Very good voices and very nice. We would recommend this diner to everyone. It is just wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Nice little break from the ordinary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been visiting Branson for years and heard stories of the Hard Luck Dinner but it wasn't until a "Girl's Trip" this summer that I actually visited the dinner. Great food, high quality entertainment. Reminded me of a 1950's Soda Shop--Right off Grease.. : ) They had a fabulous Pretzel Burger that was super yummy! The entertainers interacted with the customers but did interfere with eating.. Great family fun! : )

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Branson Entertainment deal for the $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a must stop for me & my Grand Daughter on ever trip to Branson. We only live 45 miles from Branson and eat lunch at Mel's often. You can't get a better bang for your $ in entertainment while you dine on some of the best comfort food on the strip! My advise for what its worth is "Do not miss Mel's Hard Luck Diner on your next trip."

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Hard Luck Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.