We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the entertainment; food is extra plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Hard Luck Diner

Mel's Hard Luck Diner
2800 West Highway 76, Branson, MO 65616
+1 417-332-0150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 292 Restaurants in Branson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Home of Branson's original singing servers. A 50s themed diner offering music from the decades of the 50s and 60s and on up to today. A variety of singing styles, pop, rock, showtunes, opera, gospel, country, etc. Food offerings include burgers, sandwiches, great salads, blue plate specials and save room for some of the best and biggest desserts to be found.
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Go for the entertainment; food is extra plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The food certainly was good but it was the singing waitresses and waiters were the hit. They are professional quality muscians and you felt like you were in a theatre listening to a show. I have never been in a place anything like this. We would go back in a minute and take some of our friends with us.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    316
    119
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Fun place to eat as waiters sing while serving food. Food however was just average

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“LOTS OF FUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

There was a long lineup the night we visited this establishment. They had a table for 8 available, so our group of 4 joined the group of 4 behind us and got in fairly quickly. Our new friends added to the enjoyment of the evening. I shared the rueben sandwich which was very tasty and my husband really enjoyed his hamburger. I finished off with an old fashioned soda which was also very large but yummy. It is the music which makes this place so much fun. I love the way the musicians interact with the customers and their singing is impressive. We had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment - Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very unique, entertaining restaurant as you have singing waiters and waitresses who serve you. The entire staff is very talented and we had Jason from American Idol who has an excellent voice and was extrememly generous with his time to pose for pictures and autographs. Food was okay, not great and I found the checkout process to be slow and the clerks rude, but that didn't take away from the dining experience itself.

if you go, take advantage of the 10% coupon in the travel brochures.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch and a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Had the Reuben and it was delicious. The waiters and waitresses go around and sing to their tables. It was lots of fun!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Hard Luck Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Hard Luck Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.