We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even My Husband Enjoyed the Tea Room Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Lena's Tea Room & Antq

Ruby Lena's Tea Room & Antq
224 W Main Street, Branson, MO 65616
4172392919
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 314 Restaurants in Branson
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Even My Husband Enjoyed the Tea Room Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

An all around pleasant dining experience. My husband ordered the chicken salad and tomato soup and I selected the daily special, chicken and dumpling-perfectly seasoned and cooked green beans, and mashed potatoes. Both of us were happy with our choices. For dessert we shared a piece of coconut cream pie that was melt in your mouth delicious. Ruby Lena's Tea Room is on our list of places to dine each time we are in Branson.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tea room fare-so-so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had the best chicken quiche at Ruby Lena's. Strawberry soup was refreshing and chicken salad was very tasty. I was a bit disappointed in the coconut cream pie- the meringue was at least 2-3 inches high, but the crust was overcooked.
Our server was less than attentive. I had to ask the male waiter to refill my tea after my waitress ignored my needs. If you go, try to get the male server, he pays close attention to his customers.

The setting beautiful and the tea room is cozy , decorated nicely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent home-made food; needs vegetarian options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited this tea-room for lunch on a visit to the Branson old town, when we were looking for a light, healthy lunch (sandwiches or salad rather than the ubiquitous cooked/fried food offered by every other restaurant as far as the eye could see). And, for the most part, Ruby Lena's met the bill. I had the sampler: chicken pecan quiche (fresh and delicious); almond chicken salad, also good, and taco soup, which was delicious also. I gave the muffin to my other half, who enjoyed it very much. All was fresh and flavourful. The strawberry lemonade was very refreshing.

However, apart from a spinach and feta quiche, there was nothing on the menu for my vegetarian spouse. To their credit, they made up a cheese and onion sandwich, and spouse rated both the bread and contents as very good. However, the lack of vegetarian options ON THE MENU is very definitely a negative for a cafe such as this, and is what earns the four- rather than five-star rating. How difficult is it to offer a meatless salad? A sandwich without meat? I'm not vegetarian, and there are many times when I enjoy a meat-free meal.

Overall: very good food, friendly customer service; would return IF more thought was given to vegetarian choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We happened into Ruby's, but later saw a write up about her little place in the July Spirit Magazine for Southwest Airlines. They have excellent food made from scratch. The homemade strawberry lemonade was sooo good on a warm afternoon. From the soup to the quiche to the chicken salad... it was taste perfection. So very glad we found this place and went in to have a bite. Highly recommend, though I do believe women will appreciate the setting more than most men. (I said most, not all!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and tasty too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a delightful lunch of quiche, with a green salad, house dressing, and a warm muffin and peach tea. It was very delicious. The salad had mixed greens and the house dressing was just right.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Lena's Tea Room & Antq also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Lena's Tea Room & Antq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Lena's Tea Room & Antq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.