We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Gail's Cafe

Billy Gail's Cafe
5291 State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-2069
417-338-8883
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 314 Restaurants in Branson
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Sperry, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great food. They are generally busy, but worth the wait. Bring cash.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    136
    46
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique and Memorable (in a good way)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I love Billy Gails for several reasons. First, it is utterly unique. The building is old and so is everything in it. Quaint and filled with "uniqueables" as Gail likes to call them (antiques), I usually wind up buying breakfast and finding some fun souvenirs from this fun restaurant.

Second, if you have kids... please take them here. Forget the paper menu with three crayons. Gail actually purchases small toys for the kids... every child gets to choose one to keep! My kids think they've hit the lottery with some of these inexpensive little trinkets and they are entertained long enough that I can have a conversation with my husband!

Third, as a lot of people have already stated... the food! Don't even try to be on a diet in this place. Hubcap sized pancakes, ginormous omelettes, and the famous "sloppy biscuit" (sausage, egg and cheese smothered in gravy with a side of hash browns). It's down-home kind of good.

Finally, the service. Yes, there are times when you'll have to wait. But I've been to Billy Gail's just a couple of times and my family is recognized. (And not for anything we did wrong, either.) Gail knows her customers. And she takes care of them. Most of her employees have been there for a long time because she takes care of them, too.

We plan to make a tradition of camping at Wilderness Log Cabins and Campground down the street and having breakfast at Billy Gails. I wouldn't hesitate to send people here for a great meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A unique restaurant with great food. Good value. Parking can be tricky.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breakfast the way want them it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Want a breakfast fit for a king? Billy Gails is the place to go !!!! The service can't be beat, and the food is outstanding !! If you are really hungry try a Belly Buster,thats 2 pancakes that are about 15 or 16 inches across,bacon,sausage or ham,3 eggs the way you want them,hashbrowns,and toast!!! The best Breakfast in Branson!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good food, good service. What's not to like? We keep returning.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Gail's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Billy Gail's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Gail's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.