We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your time and money....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Oak Grill

Black Oak Grill
601 Branson Landing, Branson, MO 65616
417-239-0063
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 314 Restaurants in Branson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Benton, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Save your time and money....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

There's a reason this place never seems to be busy. We decided to try it based on the tripadvisor rating and were disappointed. I had the chicken fried steak and my wife had the pot roast. The chicken fry was okay but the mashed potatoes and broccoli were less than desirable and luke-warm at that. My wife's pot roast was bland and honestly if I would have ordered it I would have sent it back. The service was less than desirable as well. I had to ask for our tea to be refilled and also had to ask for the check and the joint was only 30% full and was overstaffed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    81
    35
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, reasonable price, spectacular service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has a very trendy open atmosphere. We sat at the bar and enjoyed a happy hour Flip n Sip margarita and $5.00 Spin dip. The bartender was very entertaining and knowledgable of both the menu and sports. Very easy place to lean back enjoy the conversation, the food and the atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This isn't the kind of place you might expect in Branson. No barbecue, no ham and beans, this is upscale food in a casual atmosphere right on Lake Taneycomo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not sure about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Margaritas were not very good for $8.99. You get way better ones just down a few steps at Cantina Laredo for 8.00. The server was not knowledgeable at all about the menu and not very attentive. Cosmopolitan came out with no garnish and when we asked her about it she said that the menu had changed and it no longer came with a garnish. Manager came by and when we asked her she said that was not the case. Food was alright but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great, we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We ate here during our trip in December 2012. I had the ribs which were excellent. The sauce was tangy, but not overly so. The jicama slaw that came with the ribs was really refreshing and is something I would order again. My husband had a chicken dish that he really liked. The atmosphere is relaxed and fun. The location at Branson Landing is really convenient. Our server was really friendly and efficient when explaining the specials. I had a cocktail, a pomegranate cosmo, that was really well put together. The bar appeared to be well staffed with knowledgeable bartenders who could really mix a drink. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and will return again on future visits to the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Oak Grill also viewed

 

Been to Black Oak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Oak Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.