We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery

Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery
483 Hatchery Rd, Branson, MO 65616
417-334-4865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 144 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great place for everyone. You can learn alot and enjoy feeding the fish. My daughter loved seeing the big trout jump and splash.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    98
    28
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Nice free diversion in an expensive town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

There are so many places in branson that seem to be trying to force you is nice to find a place that is free and interesting. My kids liked feeding the fish and the video is interesting and informative. In addition to that depending on your route there are scenic overlooks to stop and take pictures. The drive itself is worth your time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you have some free time -- like 15 min to kill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

First, I must say that Trout don't really interest me. This would be great for little kids, but I found it rather boring. Basically you put a quarter into a machine for some fish food, and feed hundreds of Trout of various sizes in their hatchery "race-ways". It is free, so no loss at all -- just not my type of thing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Educational and Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Well...free unless you want to feed the fish. Bring some quarters or a few dollars to change out and you can spend some time feeding the young trout in the runs they have outside the visitor center.

This is an hour or two activity at most but absolutely worth it. There is a short 8-minute movie about the hatchery and the local lakes that is pretty well done. The exhibits of some of the local wildlife were also quite nice. The high light is seeing the fish. There is a viewing window in the visitor center where you can see some wonderful examples of the species of trout they spawn and release. I could hear my grandfather somewhere up in heaven clamoring for his rod and real at the site of these fish.

The other nice thing outside the building are the bird feeders and butterfly garden. There weren't any butterflies on this cold winter day, but it wasn't a stretch to imagine what it might be like when the weather warms up. The birds we saw included cardinals, blue jays, and woodpeckers.

The nice staff were very helpful in providing information about local fishing guides and other things to make visits to the area more enjoyable. We will definitely come back in the spring.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place to kill time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The kids and grandparents had a blast at the hatchery. We spent an hour just walking thru the different holding ponds. We brought bread to feed the fish, but the ranger exchanged our bread for a bucketful of fish food instead, reason being that the fish food had the nutrients that the fish needed. We had a great time watching the fish jumping in the pond.

Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.