We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin Irish Tenors & Celtic Ladies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Castle Theatre

King's Castle Theatre
2701 West 76 Country Boulevard, Branson, MO 65616
417 334-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 88 Attractions in Branson
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Reserve, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dublin Irish Tenors & Celtic Ladies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First of all, I've seen a lot of negative reviews of this show and couldn't disagree more. No there isn't two hours of Irish music and I'm not sure anyone would want to sit thru 2 hours of just that. Anyone who has ever seen The 12 Irish Tenors know they do a variety of music. Each singer is very talented and they do songs you won't hear anywhere else in town. The soprano Maggie who does the opera is outstanding. This cast has the best voices in town and its a treat to see them perform in the other shows at the theatre not many entertainers could be so versatile!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    30
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EL RENO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Saw all 4 shows and LOVED them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Currently, there are four shows running at this theatre. Dublin's Irish Tenors and The Celtic Ladies; New Jersey Nights; Dancing Queen; and Le Grand Cirque. We enjoy them all so much that it's impossible to choose a favorite.

Dublin's Irish Tenors and The Celtic Ladies - We loved it so much that we went to see it twice. The talent on the stage is absolutely incredible! Not only do they sing several Irish songs, but they also sing some Elton John, swing, opera, and MUCH more. The harmonies are indescribable as is the stage presence of each entertainer.

New Jersey Nights - This one focuses on the highs and lows of Frankie Valli's life. Four men and several backup dancers entertain the audience through song, dance, and audience interaction. The vocals are spot on and leave you wanting more, more, and more.

Dancing Queen - Not only do they cover ABBA songs, but also songs from Motown, the 70's, and more. The singers and backup dancers capture your attention and you can't believe how quickly the end of the show arrives. Never a dull moment with this show!

Le Grand Cirque - We had seen all of the other shows at this theatre at least twice before during previous Branson vacations, but this was our first visit to this show. I wish we had seen it the first time earlier on our trip so that we could have seen it a second time before we had to leave Branson. This show will keep you on the edge of your seat! The acrobatics and stunts are breathtaking and your heart will pound with anticipation. The mime for this show is absolutely hilarious and he interacts with the audience throughout the show.

Besides the awesome entertainment, one of the best things about this theatre is the discount they offer on tickets so it makes it affordable to see every show. You pay full price for the first tickets, the second tickets are generously discounted, and the tickets for the third and four shows are discounted even more. We saw the last two shows for less than half of the cost of the first show. You can't beat the discounts!! But, the quality of entertainment, sound system, and venue makes the cost of the first set of tickets totally worth every penny. Don't miss out on these shows!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great show!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just saw "Dublin's Irish Tenors & the Celtic Ladies" and thought it was an excellent show. The music was great and the singing was top notch. Very talented group of performers. I will definitely go back and watch again in the future. Awesome show. The time just flies by in a hurry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do Not Believe the Show Title is What The Show Is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We saw two shows at David King’s “King’s Castle”. Both shows had excellent casts and singers. The casts and singers were not the same people as on the posters or brochures. Both shows had titles which led the unwary attendee to believe the title was the substance of the show. This could not have been farther from the truth. Both shows presented 5-6 songs from the title group/groups and then proceeded onto a musical variety show from different eras and genre’s. We enjoyed both but were disappointed that what was advertized was not all that was delivered. We saw the Five Irish Tenors and Celtic women and expected an all Irish songs show from them. We saw Dancing Queen and expected more than 5-6 Abba songs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Four Seasons Attempted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We attended this relatively new show in Branson and enjoyed a lot of the songs that they did as we grew up in the Frankie Valli era. The four guys did a decent job of sounding close to the originals as they could. There was still a little more to be desired. They had a group of 4 men and lady dancers and some small movable sets. Quite frankly I expected a lot more to be made for the back drops then were presented. An attempt was made at telling a little of Frankie's life but nothing was mentioned about his "involvement" with organized crime. The music that was used as back up was not live and seemed a little like a Baldwin Funmachine. A live band would have greatly enhanced the program. I would have paid a few more dollars to have live over canned music. My wife and I commented that this show is dated as when those who grew up in this genre pass away the crowd (which was miniscule) will evaporate unless more is added to the show. We brought our married children and they were bored as they did not know the songs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Castle Theatre also viewed

 

Been to King's Castle Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Castle Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.