We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy grits!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 87 Diner

87 Diner
19510 Steven Kole Ct, Boonville, MO 65233-3558
660-882-0100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Boonville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Yummy grits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We tried this diner for Sunday breakfast on a weekend visit to Boonville after finding it on Trip Advisor. It definitely lived up to our expectations. It was not hard to find, was a big and clean room with lots of fun fall decor. There were lots of folks enjoying the place, and the staff was very friendly. We had a big country breakfast, delicious hometown cooking. I really like grits, but I don't find them very often - I ordered a side, and got a huge bowlful. They were delicious, and I ate every bit! If you are in the area, be sure to try this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Diner but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We like to go on Friday evening for the catfish special. It comes as whole fish or filets. They have large servings. The service is informal and casual. The room will be crowded with many families all in casual country dress.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Hard to find - but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On our way to Warm Springs Ranch we wanted to get something to eat. We found this local place that was very busy and had really good food. We could see that this is where the locals go as the wait staff seemed to know many of them by their 1st name. You can get a sandwich & soup or fries for $ 5.99. I had creamy chicken noddle with spinach and it was excellent. I also had blackberry cobbler for $ 2.99.

By the way - if you are interested in seeing where the Budweiser Clydesdales are breed and raised, check out Warm Springs Ranch. You do need to make online reservations 24 hours or more ahead of time. It is not far from the 87 Diner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lunch at the diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food was tasty, had the meatloaf special, which had large servings. The place is a bit hard to find with only a small sign on the highway. I guess everyone around there knows where it is.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO Ozarks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great little find thanks to all you advisors out there. We had a very nice breakfast here, clean place and friendly staff. Thanks for the recommendation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 87 Diner also viewed

 

Been to 87 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 87 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.