We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good down home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Homestead
1024 Highway K, Bonne Terre, MO
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Bonne Terre
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good down home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our first time here. Small but clean buffet. Very good service at the table. My drink never got below half empty. Was always someone cleaning tables, fixture and windows, and checking on the buffet. The Fried Chicken is great - moist and very tasty. Not a lot of items on the buffet, but everything we tried was very good. Very good desert also. Will go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“You Can Eat Healty :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We all know buffets can be all fried food but Homestead has a great salad bar, soup and fine fresh vegetables. The place is very clean and the staff is very attenative. Food was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing to brag about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After a long day in Potosi, MO and touring the mines in Bonne Terre, we looked up a place to eat while heading back and came across Homestead. This restaurant is a very small place to eat with very limited seating. We had a wait for a bit to get a non-smoking table but that was fine with me. We got a table in the second room and ordered our drink. The food bar is very small and you may have to wait, but the food was decent. There is not a lot to choose from but you'll find something you will like. The smoke from the smoking section definitely drifts over to the non-smoking side which I didn't care for too much. They just need to get rid of smoking in restaurants period. We were prolly in there eating for 30 minutes or so, enough to fill our bellies and head on down the road. Overall, good food, don't care for the divided sections and you will prolly be waiting at the food bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken & Catfish you will ever put in your mouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super Clean, Great food and the staff is extremely attentive!
No waiting here All you can eat of the best food in the State!
The Homemade Bread pudding is to die for big fluffy and covered in Vanilla Sauce if you haven't tasted this you then you don't know how good real Bread pudding tastes! They even have Carry out! That's where I'm heading Right Now See Ya!

Bubba!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean restaurant, great food, friendly, family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm a local, so you might feel this review is biased, but THIS is where the locals eat. The food bar is small, but I've eaten here 100's of times and I've never had a bad meal. I'm a stickler for cleanliness, and I always observe the employees changing the serving spoons with fresh pans. I've observed them spot checking the temperature of the fried chicken and catfish with a thermometer. The owner is always working alongside the employees, making sure things are up to his standard. A little gem here is the catfish- don't miss it! It's on the food bar almost every day, and it's way better than Catfish Kettle (a popular fish house in Farmington) Did I mention the name brand Heinz ketchup for the fish and hushpuppies? The homemade desserts? The price is great, and the waitresses and staff are always friendly. True country eats and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.