We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the nevison country inn

the nevison country inn
96b Plank Lane, Leigh WN7 4QE, England
1942671029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Leigh
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just had lunch at The Nevison country inn and it was delicious as always. After finding this pub about 18 mths ago can honestly say we dont bother going anywhere else to avoid dissapointment , I take my dad there at least once a week and he in turn has taken friends and family . And to top it all off Sunday lunch is to die for well done keep it up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great pub great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Does what it says on the tin is a great description.good food good service great prices. Dont really need to say anymore .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have eaten here several times over the last month and have had great meals every time. The black pudding stack and stilton mushrooms are our favourite starters and we have tried several different main courses which have always been delicious. The homemade chips and veg or salad are always served separately in bowls and creates a really generous portion size. All food is freshly cooked to order, but well worth the short wait.
Bottle of house wine is £8.00 and the food is reasonably priced too. The staff are really friendly, welcoming and efficient.
Currently in the process of being renovated, which will be the icing on the cake when complete. I would highly recommend a visit to the Nevison.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We tried this place purely on the reviews on this site and were seriously disappointed. We were told when we ordered that there may be a delay with the food due to earlier orders although only appeared to be a couple of other tables occupied. We had starters after what felt like a long time but it was a full hour after we ordered that our main courses arrived. There was one young man who was doing everything,the bar ,the orders, the cleaning of tables and the cooking. When it did come the starters of mushrooms and fish cakes were good and my husband enjoyed his cow pie meal but my fish chips and peas was not great. The peas were like none I have ever had. Not garden or mushy I suspect tinned marrowfats and although the chef had explained that he felt the fish were too small so would cook me two,when they came they were thin curled up tails.With lots of time to sit and observe this place is seriously grimey, comes with cobwebs ,slug trails on the carpet lots of random item on every window sill and any other free surface eg a table lamp base with no bulb or shade sitting beside another lamp on the window sill at the side of our table . I could go on. We were on a recent mission prior to taking friends there for a treat I don't thinkso

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“'A little gem'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have driven past numerous times, as we don't live too far away. We finally went in a couple of Saturdays ago and sat on the terrace around the back in the sunshine. We were served quickly, a lovely bottle of rose' and 2 steaks. They were brilliant. perfectly cooked,fresh vegetables and 'proper' chips. Only downside, there wasn't a cooler for our wine. The staff are friendly and attentive. If you have children, there is a large space at the back away from the road.
The inside still has that 'old world charm' of comfort and friendliness that is hard to find these days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the nevison country inn also viewed

 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to the nevison country inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the nevison country inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.