We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful in every respect” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Greyhound Hotel to your Saves list
The Greyhound Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful in every respect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We ( family with 2 young children ) stayed for one night back in August 2010. We were staying for wedding being held in a nearby village. From the very beginning the hotel disappointed and management's dismissive, rude and aggressive attitude made a bad problem worse. For example
1/On checking in, went to our room (required 2 keys as the first key didnt work). The room we had been given was the bridal suite, which clearly wasnt the family room we'd asked for! When going back to reception we were told its the wrong room, you need to move rooms and hope "nothing has been moved or messed up". No apology
2/ Move to another room ( again 2 trips to reception as key cards didnt work). This time the bathroom light doesnt work which makes some tasks hard to carry out in darkness....Back to reception. No apology. We were just told they would try and fix it..
3/ Fast forward to the evening. The hotel was extremely noisy, we had other guests banging on our door till 1.30am. In the morning we were told it was a staff party!
4/ Morning. Hot shower. Too right. There was actually no cold water...just a helpful sticker saying "caution, hot water" Nice touch!
5/ Trying to get 2 very tired kids ready for the wedding, when the receptionist called at 11.40 to say checkout was 40 minutes ago and if we hadn't left in 20 minutes we would be charged another nights stay!
6/ When sharing my complaints with management at checkout, i was told by the Hotel Manager that he had no authority to deal with any complaints (helpful!) and that everything needed to be put in writing to the Operations Director .I have since written 2 letters to the Operations Director of the hotel inviting his feedback but have heard nothing back.

There are many many other hotels in this area of the north-west which weve stayed at and that offer better value for money in every respect. Do yourself a big favour and dont stay at the Greyhound.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    32
    24
    35
See reviews for
49
57
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on 2/7/10, we attended an evening event as well as staying over.

The rooms were immaculate and very spacious, facilities were great and the staff were very pleasant, very good value for money ,would definatley stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I have stayed here many times over the last few years. On my previous visits i only stayed for 1 night, but recently had to spend 5 nights which opened my eyes to how far this hotel needs to improve. The hotel rooms are well enough equiped, with all the standard items including iron and ironing board, TV, phone,.and a full bathroom. The rooms are very tired in appearance with various problems (no remote for the TV, toilet loose, etc.). If staying ask for a room at the back as the main road at the front is very busy and the noise will wake you early in the morning. The higher level rooms on the 2nd floor suffer from poor water pressure, dont expect a powershower. The staff are generally friendly (at least 80%), but the other 20% spoil it and leave the wrong impression. The food is another story altogether, with the kitchen needing a major change. The inconsistency has to be seen to be believed. Some nights the food is edible and you enjoy it, so the following evening you order the same and when it comes out it is not worth eating. i Have seen, prawn cocktail with no sauce, Chiken Tikka with sauce that looked like thin soup, rack of ribs that looked like it was boiled in a bag and then the BBQ suace poured on it, nan bread and yorkshire pud that you could break your teeth on. The food is not cheap but feels that they are cutting too many corners in the kitchen.

Overall,
Would i stay again ? Only if there is nothing else.
Would i recommend ? No, i would not bring my family or business

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HereAtLeigh, Guest Relations Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
We apologise you did not enjoy your stay with us

We have recently undergone an extensive refurbishment of all areas of the hotel.

The rooms have also been a focal point in an effort to ensure all our guests experience quality rooms.

On another note we have also launched a new menu with a larger choice of items as well as developing our famous carvery.

We would very much be interested, if you was to return on your comments, regarding the improvements we have made.

We trust this goes someway in restoring your faith in us

On Behalf of the Greyhound Hotel Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leigh hotels

Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

A title like that could be foreboding, but in this case, 'tis not! I was surprised by how warm and comfortable each room was, tickled with the unlimited tea and the cursory electric kettle, and quite pleased with the comfortable beds! The indoor pool area was warm, and the view out of the large windows was a treat, overlooking a ginormous, knobbly tree and a gorgeous field, complete with frolicking ponies :)...Or, ponies that might have frolicked, were it not December and painfully cold lol

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I have stayed here previously when visiting family in the area. Staff remember us, they are friendly to guests more like in a small hotel/ guest house rather than a run of the mill large hotel, where guests are a room number/booking reference.
Room service is excellent, our TV remote did not work and bathroom had a stale smell (probably not used for a few days) left a note (in English) all was recified next morning. Fluffy bathsheets replaced daily along with soap and room was vacuumed, ample tea and coffee and good quality biscuits.
Restauaunt service a bit haphazard, but food excellent.
Hotel is excellent base for visiting Manchester of Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HereAtLeigh, Guest Relations Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
We Thank You for your positive review

We have reviewed our service within the Restaurant and Bar area and have most certainly raised the standard to ensure our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We hope to see you again soon

On behalf of the Greyhound Hotel Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

For the price you pay you can not get better in Leigh I am sure. We were here visiting family and it was suggested to us. The rooms were much larger than I was expecting, the bathroom was fine, everything clean.
the included breakfast was not that good, I have never had croissants as hard as a rock before. Everyone was very nice accept there was one girl in the restaurant who obviously was not crazy about her job but we only saw her the one day. I would not hesitate to stay here again next time we visit our relatives.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coldstream
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

spent two nights on leisure break. used it as a base for haydock races. the food was excellent and great value for money. i would recomend this hotel to anyone.
thanks ian from coldstream
scottish borders

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greyhound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.