We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pennington Flash Country Park

Pennington Flash Country Park
Lodge Road, Leigh, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Leigh
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Staff are remarkably friendly and helpful. We were made feel very comfortable as soon as we got here. Great atmosphere and fantastic food and drinks. Wasn't a nice day that we got here on but it was bliss being here all the same. Would recommend to anyone as this was a delightful trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Pennington Flash is just a beautiful, beautiful park. Lovely for a walk on a warm sunny day. Although quite a lot of people visit it when the weather is nice, it's still peaceful as it is huge so you can walk away from the crowds. There is also an area for picnics, lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful! Loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Came here a few times when visiting friends who live close and it's absolutely amazing. Doesn't matter what the weather is like this place is just perfect!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went for the first time on Saturday. What a beautiful, unspoiled park and it is only a short drive away. It was created by coal mining subsidence that flooded so there are lots of areas of water that are filled with birds.
For part of our visit it was heavy rain with hailstones but it didn't spoil it one bit. The ducks were oblivious to it but the smaller birds sheltered briefly then appeared as soon as the sun came out again.
There are lovely walks around the park and six bird hides. We saw 44 different varieties of bird in our three hour visit.
I will definitely come again.
A well maintained, wonderful place with something for everyone.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great destination for everyone !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful Place for all ages. We live locally, but never tire of going to "the flash". There's good parking facilities, toilets, refreshment vendors, and an unbelievable number of benches, where you can rest, and drink in the atmosphere. When we, and our grandchildren were younger, we came here to picnic, play games, and watch the bird life, not to mention feeding the ducks. It was enjoyed by us all. Now, older, and not so fit, we still go regularly, and enjoy all it has to offer, but use the benches a little more......... Our granchildren still enjoy it too, when they visit. Fill a day.....enjoy the tranquility, but please visit this lovely place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennington Flash Country Park also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pennington Flash Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennington Flash Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.