We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, awful service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Whistling Wren

The Whistling Wren
Turner Way | Leigh , Lancashire, Leigh WN7 4GX, England
01942 601832
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Leigh
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I won't write a big paragraph because most of you probably can't be bothered reading it.

Basically, the food is decent for the price you pay (2 meals for the price of 1), HOWEVER, the service is shocking. I've been more than once and every time have been told to find a seat and they will come take our order. Every single time we have been left waiting over an hour for them to take our order and then even once you have ordered the meals take just as long to arrive, even when it isn't that busy!

Overall I think this place would be perfect if the staff payed more attention to what they're supposed to be doing and by looking after customers better!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    46
    26
    22
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“shocking waiting time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've been here twice now and never again! Waited well over a hour for our food and when it did finally came it was cold! If we had known there was a match on we also wouldn't of gone as with it being a pub it wasn't a pleasant eating environment when the match had finished. I will say the young girls who served us were very friendly and were under a lot of stress due to the service times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited this restaurant and after being told it would b 30-45 minute wait we waited almost 2 hours to receive our food. The service was absolutely appauling for both food and bar service. However the Manager is to be recommended he was working really hard just a pity his staff didnt have the same enthusiasm perhaps he should learn the art of delgation as he was carrying his staff! We were however compensated with a free drink each for our wait but would rather have had good service from the outset. Would not visit this pub/restaurant again nor would I recommend it to any of my friends so dont visit this establishment unless you are prepared to wait hours!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for ceoleacs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its a new build pub and we were offered a separate gluten free menu for my wife. It was a pleasant surprise. and great value. We went for the gluten free fish and chips, excellent. Very helpful staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sunday lunch visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

went wih mum and husband for lunch wasn't busy so got table straight away ,
my mum and myself opted for the pudding and chips and husband have beef curry ,the pudding seemed as thought it had been microwaved as the pastry was hard and the chips where luke warm at best ,the curry was ok as curries go after I had red velvet cake which was a little pricey at £4.75 the meals are 2 for 1 but pudding and chips where £10 but like I say we got 2 for 1 so only cost £10 for 2 but potions where small but the all the meals are over priced to make up for the 2 for 1 offer there where 3 of us so had to pay full price for 3rd meal which was £12.95 and for quality and portion size was way over priced ,
I don't mind paying extra when the food is good but the food here is terrible and we wont be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whistling Wren also viewed

 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Whistling Wren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistling Wren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.