We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually good service but average, pricey food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie and Benny's

Frankie and Benny's
Unit 1, The Loom | Leigh, Leigh WN74BA, England (Formerly Frankie and Bennys)
01942 675776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 43 Restaurants in Leigh
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Frankie & Benny's brings together the best of classic American and Italian in both style and cuisine. In typical stateside fashion, service at Frankie & Benny's is second to none! Nothing is too much trouble for our obliging and friendly staff. So you can relax, settle into your booth and relish the wonderful feeling of a very satisfied appetite... Frankie & Benny's is open for breakfast every day, breakfast dishes start from just £3.95 - With free tea & coffee refills after the first one is purchased! Dine from the great value lunch menu offering main courses for only £6.95 Available Monday-Friday 11am-5pm! Or enjoy the popular Specials Menu for only £9.95, Top up to two and three courses for an additional £2 each, Sunday-Friday. Monday Madness! 25% Off your food bill on Monday Evenings - available between 5pm and 10pm. Excludes Bank Holidays, terms & conditions apply.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Usually good service but average, pricey food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was eating here few times. Decor is nice, clean in new development. Service is good. Food is just average and doesn't taste like home made. Out of few items only pizza i liked most and could rate as 4 stars, also tiramisu although definetly not home made taste very good but pricey, over £5. Main menu is pricey for quality you get, lunch menu is better value for money. To sum up - it's not great but probably best choice for lunch out of 3restaurants in LOOM development.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    25
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family visit on a Saturday night, fantastic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Went last night with my partner and 3 children. Was welcomed with a smile, and although we could not be seated straight away it was less than 10mins before we could. Our server woz very pleasant and done an amazing job considering she was new. The food came out promptly and was really nice. We all had a really nice time and would definitely recommend and come back.... And bonus the toilets were spotless and smelled pleasant a must with children.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Pricey, average food, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Fairly standard Frankie and Bennys fare, dough balls were good, Philly Cheese Steak Sandwich was served on a burger bun (?), and was acceptable, kids ribs were very nice but the side salad was tired. Chocolate Fudge Cake was lovely as was the Cinnamon Waffle. Service was excellent, we went in at a odd time (3:30) and despite there only being one member of staff serving (very helpful and fun lady who usually works in the Trafford Centre restaurant), her service was excellent.

I must say though, it was pricier than I recalled from other visits to F&B recently. We will probaby be back as my son absolutely buzzes off the Chocolate Fudge Cake.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top Price Ready Meals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited here on Saturday night. On entrance to the restaurant we were asked if we wanted any kid's menus which is very odd seeming as we are all 20+.

We had two courses each, a Pepsi each and a side which came to a total of £20 each....and that's after a £5 bill discount. I find this ridiculous. There are top quality restaurants in Manchester serving real food that charge the same or less than Frankie & Bennys. The food itself we all felt was horrible. I had a Chicken Pasta Bake and it tasted like a ready meal which is what it probably was. I have never had a worse restaurant meal.

The only positives were we were served quickly and the waitress was friendly.

I thought I'd give them another chance for the sake of convenience but I will never make the same mistake again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed in the slightest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went with some colleagues on a pre booked works Christmas do, where do I start-
The starters were the only positive, really quite nice.
The mains were of low quality, the chicken dishes were very dry, even the sides like chips were not cooked properly or poorly presented.
It was quite unacceptable
Then, 7 out of 8 of us had PRE ORDERED the choc fudge cake for desert which was 'unavailable'
They did replace these with a round of drinks which was frankly the least they could do as all throughout the night the service was slow and below acceptable standards. Overall not a great experience at all, I will not be returning again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie and Benny's also viewed

Leigh, Greater Manchester
 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Frankie and Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie and Benny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.