We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Holiday Inn Expresses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sale Way, Leigh Sports Village, Leigh WN7 4JY, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Leigh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the better Holiday Inn Expresses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one is one of the better ones. The hotel has bigger bedrooms and bathrooms than the usual HI Express. Staff very friendly and there is even a gym - a first for a HI Express for me.

Some of the rooms have recently been refurbished, but not all. I have stayed here twice over the last month and the first visit had a new bathroom and the second one not so new. Nothing really wrong with the second one, just not as nice.

Breakfast is the usual HI Express food with hot and cold choices, and coffee & juice from a machine.

Free WiFi worked fine for the time i needed it and plenty of parking - i did stay when there was a football match on (U21s i think) and there were marshalls around keeping an eye on the parking.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived on the 15/12/2014 for a two night business trip. The greeting was warm and friendly and the hotel was clean and spacious. Went to my room, a nice bed, large walk in shower with TV, big desk for work and large wardrobe area. The breakfast this morning was Sausages, Scrambled egg and beans, with a choice of cereals, bread or toast, croissants, tea, coffee, fruit and yoghurts. Very nice and tasty. I have one night left but am looking forward to bedding down again, very good will return when I am up here in January 2015

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently opened, this was one of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels I have visited. Very friendly staff greeted me and made me feel welcome. The restaurant was in the bar but the food was served quickly and was perfectly adequate if not haut cuisine. The rooms were excellent - nicely furnished with room to work and a good bathroom. All in all a very pleasant place to stay with ample parking available. Being next to the rugby club, parking on match days may be an issue but not one I encountered.

Room Tip: There are busy roads around and the rugby club next door which might be an issue. Otherwise there d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is the first time we stayed at this hotel, thought it was a nice place to stay was here 2 nights we went out for the hole day Saturday come back to are room and we couldn't get in cause the cleaner locked us out of are room, i was shocked when we hat to go to reception and ask why and they only had us down for 1 night of staying when we payed for 2nights!!! there was no hot water and the breakfast was awful well wasn't even a breakfast to be honest (egg & sausages) plus the pot of beans was empty?? could of done better with it tbh next morning we couldn't even sit down and have something to eat as was so busy and everything was empty so we hat to leave with having nothing!! was not happy when paying to stay in this hotel was expecting to eat befor leaving to go home....would not be staying here again..

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXLeigh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Leigh . Firstly the issue you had experienced in trying to get back into your room was due to the electronic key card which our guests are issued with . If the key cards have been placed next to mobile phones , or kept in purses or wallets & have gone into shops where there are store detectors - sometimes this can interfere with the magnetic strip inside the card . Housekeeping do not have the abilities to lock our guests out of there rooms . In terms of your reservation being down for one night as you have stated - I have looked back at your reservation & it states for two nights - not one night - this I can only assume is a miscommunication

Our weekend breakfast times are open from 7.30am - 10.30 . The breakfast in the Holiday Inn Express Leigh is the standard within all Express Holiday Inns which consist of the three hot items - Scrambled Egg , Beans & Sausages . Selection of Danish pastries & croissants , selection of youghts , fruit salad , cheeses , sliced ham , toast , jams , marmalade & cereals . I apologize if you found the breakfast not to your liking also on how busy it was . We did alert all guests staying with us last weekend on how busy breakfast would be & the best times to come for breakfast as we were dealing with 270 covers for breakfast - I am pleased to say however we have had a lot of positive comments regarding the service , & the teams hard work & excellent customer service which they delivered last weekend - something which we take pride with . I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations - however if you decided to return we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as we were going racing at Haydock Park which was a short drive away. Can't fault the place. Clean, friendly staff, breakfast good. In addition, a very well equipped modern gym as an added bonus. Great for me just a shame the steam and sauna were off. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXLeigh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi

We are glad you had a fantastic stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Leigh . We hope you had a great time at Haydock & we are pleased that you found the team , bedrooms & breakfast of a high standard .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay ..the rooms were bright and very clean. Quick check in and out. Breakfast was good. All staff were very friendly and breakfast staff very quick at clearing and cleaning tables. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXLeigh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

It is fantastic to read your review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Leigh . I am please that you had a good stay & the bedrooms , breakfast & our team made a good impact I will pass on your comments .

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the first time I have tried this hotel and it won't be last.
The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the staff attentive and friendly.
I was worried about where to eat as I normally stay in full service holiday inn's and have read a few other reviews but I was impressed with the choice and quality and didn't have any complaints.
This is a great choice for a great stay, thanks everyone

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXLeigh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding Holiday Inn Express Leigh . I am glad the team & the hotel met all your expectations . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Address: Sale Way, Leigh Sports Village, Leigh WN7 4JY, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Leigh)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Leigh hotel in Sports Village near Manchester and Liverpool. The Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village lies adjacent to state-of-the-art Leigh Sports Village, which offers public recreational facilities and an 10,000-seat sports stadium. Just a short drive from the cities of Manchester, Warrington and Liverpool, and close to Manchester Airport, the hotel is perfect for leisure and business travellers or visiting athletes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Leigh Hotel Leigh
Leigh Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.