We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a reasonable price for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Inn

Manor House Inn
Carterway Heads, England
01207 255 268
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
darlington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited here initially for a drink during the day and sat outside overlooking the hills which was lovely. The barman who was the owners brother was very friendly and helpful and booked us in the restaurant for later that night. Restaurant was nice and food was good however my husband had quite a lot of bones in the seabass. 2 starters 2 mains and 3 drinks came to 42quid which was decent value and certainly a lot cheaper than Slaley Hall where we stayed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“3-words. Friendly, delicious and comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked this at the last minute and then, on the day we were due to arrive, changed our booking to include our daughter. Nothing was too much for Chris, Jenny and Rachael. Chris's Mum is also a gem ..... they are all so laid back and friendly - we changed our table booking by an hour due to the Bank Holiday traffic delaying us - they could not have been more relaxed about it, despite being busy in the restaurant. But let me tell you about the place ....

The views are spectacular - you completely forget when you are in the place that this is right on the main road from England to Scotland. We arrived on a Bank Holiday Friday and did not hear or see the traffic. Once you arrive, it is a really enveloping atmosphere.

The food is absolutely delicious, thoughtfully cooked and beautifully presented. Chris is well versed in his cellar and knows what grape will go with which dish. Rachael, who was looking after the dining room was an absolutely wonderful waitress. She was attentive, without being intrusive and has a wicked sense of humor.

The rooms are all named after game. We stayed in Pheasant and our daughter in Grouse. The rooms are so, so comfy and all the family slept like logs .... which is rare as I never sleep well in strange beds. The views from the windows are breathtaking.

And then there is Chris's Mum ...... what an amazing lady! Her scones are delicious, too!!

All in all .... would I go back there DEFINITELY. The prices are well thought through and the welcome is warm. Oh, and it wouldn't be a review from me if I didn't mention the dogs .... they do not mind the dogs in the Bar. They positively encouraged ours ..... I have no idea about the rooms as ours always sleep in the car.

The three words in the title sum up the atmosphere, food and surroundings. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our 2nd visit.

Stopped off on the way home from Scotland, having visited last year.

On both occasions we were made very welcome.

All 3 courses were excellent as was the service.

Not your usual Bar Food, well presented and freshly cooked.

Try it !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“my birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My partner asked where I'd like to go for my birthday, because the last time I was at the manor house not long ago I decided to go back.we called to book a table in the restaurant but were told the restaurant was closed so we said we would eat in the lounge.we arrived at 7.30pm, there was a table of four eating in the lounge.we ordered drinks at the bar and had a look at the menu.the bar person (Martin) informed us there was no gravadlax (there wasn't any on our last visit).I asked if it was possible to have the tempura prawns without the batter which Martin said was no problem at all.my partner decided he would have the same.I ordered trio breast of partridge and my partner ordered a sirloin.the food came and I can't knock it.it was hot, tasty and my partners steak was cooked to perfection.I chose an icecream which was simple but delicious.my partner had a coffee.as it was my birthday we have started a little tradition of enjoying a talisker afterwards (my favourite whiskey from Skye) only to be told they didn't have it but they were in the process of reviewing the whiskey selection.the bar person (Martin) was very professional and a pleasure to talk to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Long wait for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant nearby to go with some relatives and as there seemed to be a mixed review for this pub we thought we would give it a try. When we arrived most of the tables in the lounge were occupied so we went into the bar. We ordered our drinks and got the menu's then moved to a table which had been vacated in the lounge. The restaurant part was not open, maybe because it was a week day lunch time.

There was a notice on the bar stating there were no fish and chips and the fryer needed to be repaired.The man at the bar was helpful and took cleared the table and we went to the bar and placed our order. I ordered one of the specials; venison burger and my partner ordered the game pie. We waited 50 minutes before the food came, although by this time there was only two other couples in the lounge area and the bar still seemed quiet. The burger was served on focaccia with french fries and onion rings and was warm not hot. The onion rings were very greasy and left grease on the plate. My partners pie had shortcrust pastry and was hot, but it had mostly rabbit in it. There was a good assortment of vegetables on the side dish but only two boiled potatoes.

We waited 50 minutes for an okay meal which are not very big. My partner did mention to the bar man that he thought that having only two potatoes was a bit mean. We will not be going back to this pub to eat again, which is a shame as there are nice views.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor House Inn also viewed

Carterway Heads, Northumberland

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.