We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where have you been all my life!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hart

The Red Hart
Cockshot Lane | Cockshot Lane, WR7 4DD, Kington, Worcestershire, England, Kington WR7 4DD, England
01386 792559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where have you been all my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have visited countless so called Gastro Pubs in Worcestershire, and invariably leave mildly disappointed. Encouraging menus are often followed by bland food and indifferent service, Finally with The Red Hart we have found what we have been looking for. Great service, convivial atmosphere, interesting menu, locally sourced produce, and most importantly, great tasting and imaginative food (portion sizes are generous too). Never pretentious, the menu is a superb blend of classic pub food and something for the more adventurous, Not only that, the real ale was wonderful too.

I am often referred to as being a "fussy person". Never understood that really, but I honestly cannot think of a single thing to criticise. I am told that is a first!! We were there on a Friday night, and I am bemused as to why it wasn't jammed to the rafters. It was pretty busy, but there must be so many people in Worcestershire looking for a Gastro Pub of this quality.

A secret gem in rural Worcestershire. I would definitely recommend this wonderful restaurant to anyone that appreciates quality. We will be returning very soon, of that there is no doubt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If carlsberg made pubs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for sunday lunch the carvery was probably the best i have ever eaten.
Service was friendly and efficient.
Great pub great well done to the team working there today.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is one of our favourite places to eat. It has a comfortable atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious. I particularly like the specials board which offers a good choice of seasonal dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have now eaten at The Red Hart many times (weekdays and weekends) and we cannot fault it. The food is absolutely delicious, all freshly cooked, beautifully presented & the members of staff are very professional & friendly. The specials board offers a wonderful choice and the Sunday lunches are a must, followed by a chocolate fondant just perfect. Wheat free meals are not a problem. These days it is very hard to find a place that is consistently perfect and the Red Hart is just that place. Thank you Darren & Gabi

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TnAWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent pub, first class food and very friendly service and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I highly recommend this pub. The bar food was excellent and very good value for money. Landlady was also extremely friendly!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trinaharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hart also viewed

Flyford Flavell, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Red Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing