We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food - Highly Recommend you visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hart

The Red Hart
Cockshot Lane, Kington WR7 4DD, England
01386 792559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Kington
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worcester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - Highly Recommend you visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic food, great variety, beautifully cooked and generous portions. A member of our group is wheat intolerant so the chief Darren came out, discussed options available and offered other items that he was willing to adapt, really nice to have so many options. The team were very friendly and helpful. We went for dinner on a Saturday evening and as it was so delicious went back for a Sunday lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    129
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited for a lunchtime bite and was delighted recieve a warm welcome. The quality of the 'doorstep' sandwiches was exceptional with no lack of fillings. Between the group we had cheddar, bacon/brie and home cooked honey roast ham sandwiches. Each had salad leaves in the sandwich, and came with a side portion of chips. The chips were some of the best we have had, ever. They were flexible enough to leave the mustard out of the ham sandwich and to provide separate plates so that one of the sandwiches could be split between our two kids (2 and 4 years old). We thought that they would not eat it all as it was so large, but they did! The drinks were also excellent. Again a selection was had including coke, dirty tackle ale, stella, rose wine and squash. We are now keen to go back and sample some of the other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having found out about this pub from this site my fiancée and i headed there this last Sunday for lunch. The pub is in a lovely area and from the second you walk in your made to feel welcome from the friendly staff.

Originally they sat us in the bar area which we were more than happy with but then the lady that appears to be the restaurant manager ( i think her name is Gabi) offered to seat us in the restaurant under the window in the light. Well after months of snow/drizzle/grey cloud we were delighted to take up this option!

We had the deli platter to share for starters and it was beautiful. It is a tapas style selection made of salamis, fresh bread, olives, home made fish paste and hummus (both were amazing!), anchovies, cray fish tales, chillies, pickled onions and chutney. We both loved this starter and i couldn't fault it.

For mains my fiancée went for the corn fed chicken supreme with mixed wild mushrooms, leeks and bacon in cheese, dauphinoise potatoes and red wine jus (from the specials board) and i went for roast sirloin of beef, duck fat potatoes and all sorts of veg. The veg was thankfully not cooked steamed and plain (like most pubs) and both meals were full of flavour and quality.

We then had a pudding each, which if we are being honest we didn't need and struggled to eat! But we loved the presentation on the slate boards and the popping candy!!!!

All in all there is not one thing i could find fault in apart from it being 30 minutes away from Malvern and not local! The service was quick, efficient and not rushed. Gabi and the other staff were very friendly, the stowfords was spot on, the food was some of the best I've ever had at a restaurant and my fiancée and i could not recommend this pub enough. We will be back in a big group for my birthday next month!

... and to top it off we had 3 courses each and a pint of stowfords and the bill only came to £55, which for the quality of the food was great value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A real gem of a pub in rural Worcestershire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My other half and I were on our way out of the county (no, not on the run, just making the most of the good weather and going somewhere more glamorous than Redditch) and decided that we needed lunch and so stopped off at the Red Hart. We had been here once before on New Years Day and on that occasion, had been really impressed with the brunches that we ate. So expectations were high for lunch!
We were greeted by a really friendly member of staff and shown to a table next to an open fire in one of the dining areas close to the bar. There was a good range of food on offer on the menu and on the specials board and I found it quite difficult to decide what to order. We decided on the sharing platter to start with and then he ordered fish and chips and I ordered a chicken, bacon and avocado salad. He pronounced the real ale 'very good' and 'spot on' and my sparkling water was...well...sparkling water.
The sharing platter was excellent - really high quality ingredients and a very good range of breads which was great as there is often insufficient bread on a sharing platter I have found. The houmous tasted home made and was very good indeed.
The fish and chips were also excellent - the fish was fresh and cooked well and the chips were chunky and crisp. The home made tartare sauce and mushy peas were well presented and also very tasty and it was served with a well dressed salad.
There was a slight blip with my salad in that the chef had served the wrong one (avocado and sun blush tomato instead of chicken, bacon and avodado) but the sharp eyed waitress realised, took it back straight away and the correct salad appeared a few minutes later. (It gave me chance to sample the fish and chips!). The salad was a starter portion but was more than big enough after the generous sharing platter and contained loads of chicken, bacon, ciabatta croutons and ripe avocado and the dressing was lovely.
All in all lunch was really very good indeed and we will be returning very soon to sample the evening menu. My only regret is that the pub isn't closer to home but then you can't have everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sue64Mac,

Thank you for spending the time and put such a kind review about your experience here in The Red Hart! We do appreciate you have been travelled here to try our dishes, the specials board is always changing, so when you are deciding to come next time for a dinner I am sure there will be something challenging on it as my husband is changing the specials every week.
Have a nice day!

All the best,
Gabi Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Reading the reviews on here I expected to be wowed. I wasn't though and perhaps in fairness to the pub it was down to my choice of food. I had the homemade burger and chips and the burger was nice enough, it came with a green salad and homemade coleslaw but for the price I would have expected a bit more - the salad looked like it came from a bag from Tesco and there was no beef tomato or onion on the burger, it was literally a burger in a dry bun. The prices aren't cheap and the service was a little slow and we were eating late so no obvious reason why this was so. Tried it and like the title said it was only OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TourismProfessional,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can not please all our customers, all of us are having different kind of expectations! Our home-made beef burger is one of the most popular light bite, and the salad is definitely not coming from Tesco as we are having nice companies they are delivering everything fresh (salad, meat, bread, fruits etc)!
Hope next time you will try a gourmet dish from the specials and everything will be OK!

All the best,

Gabriella Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hart also viewed

Ombersley, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Wichenford, Worcester
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Eldersfield, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Been to The Red Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.