We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hart

The Red Hart
Cockshot Lane, Kington WR7 4DD, England
01386 792559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kington
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Called in to this pub on the off chance on Sunday. Had a starter and then a main course off the Sunday lunch menu. Portions were large, so much so, we could not manage a dessert. The pub has been refurbished, and now has a definite gastro pub feel to it, and judging by the food that we had, it has the menu to match. Sunday lunch was excellent, a good choice of meats, as well as plentiful vegetables. We will definitely be back to try the regular menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear JCALC,

So pleased you are appreciating the food and effort we have done in The Red Hart. On our webpage you can find the menus and the specials, give it a go for a regular dinner, there will be plenty of choices.
Thanks for your review, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    15
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little pub and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were recommend this place by a friend and have been back twice since. The staff are friendly, the food superb and the beer a bit hit and miss. Here, I had the best steak since I'd experienced one in Argentina two years ago and it wasn't far off that!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Dicko100,

Thank you for coming back in our pub! The steak is always a good choice, so pleased you have had a good experience with that.
All the best, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get in Quick, While You Can Still Get A Table!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to The Red Hart for evening "pop out for a meal at the pub" type food for a couple of years now and we have seen it change hands a couple of times in the last 12 months or so. It started out as a really lovely little pub, olde worlde beams, good food and beer... then it shock-horror, changed hands and all of a sudden the food took a bit of a tumble and no one else was in there.... atmosphere dived - we started visiting less.... then recently it changed hands again... so we gave it another go, willing it to revive, we really didn't want to stop coming, and thank God we didn't!...

A little transformation is taking place.... the food's got even better than it ever was.... it seems that Gabi and Darren have arrived and are out to make this little country pub something REALLY special... we knew things were improving but while looking for somewhere special to visit the other day with a friend, we looked up restaurants in Worcestershire and were amazed to find The Red Hart proudly displaying 38 x 5* reviews in not much more than a month... Number 1 of 583 in Worcestershire!!! We booked instantly and weren't disappointed...

A pre-starter of home-made glorious hummus, olives, and warm pitta that three of us shared - for £4.95, huge starters - duck wraps, (unfortunately the salt and pepper chilli squid and Asian salad wasn't on this night!), a chicken and bacon salad, and the best mussels I have ever had: from the Specials board... Thai style. All with absolutely exquisite flavour.

For mains, a juicy sirloin, crispy chilli beef, and the good old Red Hart burger with chips - still one of the most fabulous burgers I've ever tasted - very meaty indeed - note could just perhaps do with a little coleslaw? or maybe Asian salad? ;) - just a thought and the only suggestion we could come up with for improvement on anything! All fantastic.

We couldn't try the puddings as we were way too full :(

We managed to have a long chat to Gabi about their plans to make something very special - can only wish them the very best of luck with their venture but have a feeling they're doing everything right already. Can't wait to return. Fantastic evening Gabi and Darren, thank you - keep doing what you're doing, we'll be back shortly. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Steve O,

This kind of nice reviews makes us to work harder and harder. Thank you! The food will be always a very good quality, big portions and homely atmosphere! We do love our customers, so apart the nice food you will always can have a friendly chat with us!
Thanks again, the log fire is on, hope to see you soon!

Gabi and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited on Saturday night, absolutely wonderful meal. We will return-soon. We had not been for quite a while but were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear udor!

So pleased you have find everything nice in The Red Hart! Thank you for coming, see you soon!

Gabi and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply - WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wow! what a find,

A good variety of freshly prepared food, an unusual variety if you fancy something different and at reasonable prices. The meals are tasty and well presented. The fish was lovely and fresh with a crispy skin. The steak melted in your mouth. Everyone worked so hard.

The staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They took pride in the pub and kept it clean. We will be going back again and again and again . . . .

Our compliments to Darren & Gabi for turning the pub around and making it something special.

Best wishes and thanks for a great night.
Mike. Sandra & Girls.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE_RED_HART, Owner at The Red Hart, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mike & Sandra & Girls!

Lovely friends, thank you for your review and for your help supporting us since we took The Red Hart over! We would like to see you more often here, hope we can have another nice evening together before Christmas!
All our love,
Darren and Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hart also viewed

Ombersley, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Flyford Flavell, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Red Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.