We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   222 Peculiar Dr., Belton, MO 64012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When I got there, even though I had a reservation, they didn't know if there was a room for me. Apparently, they had flooding and rooms weren't cleaned. As I was trying desperately to find another motel, they miraculously had a room available. I questioned them if it was clean, being I heard them talking about the rooms not being cleaned. They assured me they were ------ Horrible, horrible, horrible. I had a non-smoking room that smelled of smoke. We actually checked for bed bugs it was so dirty. (Slept on top of the covers). Unfortunately, there was not another motel around available. The next morning I noticed under the table a spider web with eggs in it. There were webs on the ceiling and lamp. Black dots (not paint) on the ceiling. We decided not to check too closely, being we had to stay. I would never ever recommend this motel. Next time, I'd sleep in my car instead of one of those rooms.
EditDelete

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
4
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was very disappointed with my stay at the Belton Econolodge. I have to say this isn´t a great place, but is IS cheap. The room I stayed in, 119 had light bulbs burned out by the bed, I thought the inside door knob was missing until i looked on the floor, and it was laying there. The light in the bathroom was held up to the ceiling by scotch tape. The room smelled musty like my grandmas basement and the internet connection is very unstable and diconnects alot. The morning breakfast offers waffles,off brand powdered donuts and honey buns, and assorted cereals served from the old coin style candy machines. Definitely not a place to bring a new bride or your mistress but if you need a cheap bed, it beats the homeless shelter downtown. The clerk wasn´t that bad but reminded me somewhat of a robot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for one night just passing through. The clerk was not very friendly, and when I went to get extra towels, she was sitting outside the hotel office door smoking. The room was clean, appeared to have new carpeting, and the bed was good; however, there were patched, unpainted places in the room and there was someone else's trash in the trash can. Price was mid-range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is an older hotel. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly upon check-in. We were supposed to have a crib in the room, but there wasn't one there when we entered our room. We decided not to ask for one after we saw the room. Our babies slept in the pack and play we brought along instead as I knew that was clean. The room smelled musty. The carpeting looked old and worn/dirty. We wore shoes whenever we walked on it. The door wouldn't shut properly. My husband had to use his full strength to shut it completely. The bedding is very poor quality. The pillows are flat. The pool is very very small. Breakfast wasn't too bad considering the hotel experience. If you do stay at this place, do not pay over $50.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed for ten nights in April 2011, our room was cleaned every day and we could not fault the service for the price.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soap Lake, WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting our kids who live in Raymore. The service was excellent. They always had fresh coffee and an assortment of pastries in the lobby for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

On October 2, 2009, I had to go to Kansas City, MO, for the funeal of a family member on the following day. I stayed at the Econo Lodge in Belton, MO. I have a hearing impairment, so I asked the desk clerk for assistance in making a collect phone call to my sister at my home in Republic, MO. She refused. When I later tried to make the call from my room, I connected with the same clerk who again would not process my call. I had to go to a convenience store down the street to get someone to help me. I have never heard of a hotel where you could not make a COLLECT call to your home. If I have to make another overnight trip to Kansas City, I will find a different place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 222 Peculiar Dr., Belton, MO 64012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Belton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.