We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, according to what you are expecting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17205 South 71 Hwy, Belton, MO 64012 (Formerly HI Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok, according to what you are expecting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a lot and it is kind of a "blue collar" hotel, with contractors & military staying there in addition to others. I'd just say you get what you expect, nothing special, but reasonable room rates for the most part. The beds were clean and always changed.

There is a Holiday Inn Express close-by for someone wanting something a little more upscale. As an occassional smoker I preferred this hotel as it offered smoking rooms and I enjoyed the sliding windows allowing ventalation and I enjoy the fresh breeze of the outdoors.
They are now going to all smoke-free so regrettably they will lose my business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here in the past so I was surprised at how is has gone downhill. When we checked in we were put on the 2nd floor which was surprising since it was not very busy. When we came in the back door we were immediately accosted by a strong mildew smell. We saw multiple blower/dryers on the first floor and plastic sheets hanging down. When we got to the second floor the mildew smell became mixed w/ old cigarette smell. It was terrible. My husband and I immediately became horribly stuffed up. My husband went to the front desk to ask about the smell & was informed that they had burst pipes and the sprinkler system had gone off a few days early. Totally flooding the first floor. My husband responded that I was miserable and they asked why...He said the smell...they said oh we didnt notice. NO apology or sorry about that.... We should have been informed about the problems so we could have switched hotels. Even my young children were uncomfortable with the stink. Happy to see they are building a new Hotel down the road. That is where we will stay from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUGENE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Belton, Missouri Comfort Inn. It is a reasonalbly priced motel. Pros: Helpful staff, friendly help in the breakfast room, clean rooms. Cons: Smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms located on the same floor. Mail hallway always smells of smoke. Exterior door on south-side bangs when it shuts, right next to our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are next to a bar and grill, nosiey at night. Room beside exterior doors sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We attended a church event for labor day weekend in Grandview Mo. The church paid for our rooms. The understanding that we had was that the church would pay for the room and tax only for 4 nights. Anything else,
Incidentals, other fees would be the guest responsibility. I called 2 weeks before check in and informed an employee that i had a pet. She advised me that there is a $100 pet fee when i checked in. I told her that i would pay it since it was not the church's responsibility to pay. Well, when we checked in on that Friday August 31, the man that checked us in told me that there are no pets allowed on the property. I told him that i had spoken to an employee, who happened to be the property manager that booked the reservation and advised me of the pet fee. He told me to talk to the person who made the arrangements with me and i did the next day Saturday and that employee told me that i have up until the time we check out which would have been the 4th of September after labor day to pay the $100 fee. When i got back from the church event on Saturday afternoon, the young man that checked me in on Friday, told me that i have to pay a $100 fine for "sneaking my pet in" which i declared on Friday to him. But, he said "he didn't remember." And my pet had to leave. I checked out very upset and my family (kids and a 12 month old baby) stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn on blue ridge in Kansas city Mo. This area of town was a drug/ war zone totally unsafe for my kids. Prostitutes etc. I had to use our blankets so that my kids would not get infected because the rooms stunk and were not sanitized. This hotel was slummy! This was all i could find considering that it was labor day and there was no availability for a decent hotel room in the area. Sunday morning, we packed up and thank god that i was able to find the pear tree inn in overland park Kansas (10 miles from the church in Missouri) for a very good price per night. More than i expected. The staff at the Pear Tree inn was very nice and helpful and the rooms were very clean. The rest of our weekend went very nice. However, we missed Sunday morning service because we went to another hotel. This comfort inn in Belton Mo billed the church 1 extra night for $65 after we checked out for Saturday. We stayed 1 night at the Comfort Inn and the comfort inn billed the church for 2 nights. This is very dishonest. Because of this, i will never stay at another comfort inn ever because of these people. They are dishonest and the management is terrible. She lied about the reservation from the beginning when i confronted her on Monday. I brought my dog with me 850 miles when i could made arrangements with a family member in NM to leave the pet. When we go on vacation, i always take my dog with us. I will not stay at a hotel that does not allow pets. I have paid in California and in Florida 3x more for an average hotel room and stayed in a smoking room because of our pet. I felt that i did the right thing by calling the comfort inn in Belton Missouri and making arrangements from the beginning before i left my house and declared my pet. Because of this employee/hotel manager, it ruined our event that i was looking forward too. Don't stay there. You can not trust these people. They are dishonest. The service was absolutely terrible.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garypatel, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello, my name is Gary and I'm the owner of the comfort inn in Belton, MO.
First off, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us,and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We have a strict no pet policy and have had this policy for many years. The staff is well aware of this and I have never had any employee tell a customer that they could keep a pet. We do allow pets to stay outdoors in our dog house for free, but due to past issues with pets, we do not allow pets in our rooms. If an employee did tell you that you could keep a pet, I apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Besides the warm hot breakfast in the morning this place is not an ideal place to stay for an extended amount of time. On a business trip and stayed for a couple days. Pool was not in working order, bathrooms are falling apart and have rust stains on shower head, door stuck, stains on toilet and rooms did not cool properly. You could hear the creaking of the floor from people walking up above you, banging on the wall as well as the wall shakes when people close their doors. Customer service is pretty good at night but staff not dressed very professionally. I would definately pay a little extra to go stay at a more upscale hotel if staying for a long period of time. However, this would be a place to stay if just passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the only hotel in this area I would stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have stayed here about once a month for several years now, and the remodel helped a lot. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds.
The down side, is the "see through" bath towels (only two) that are hard to dry off with. The other is the smoking rooms on the first floor, stink up the hallway to the point of smelling as bad as the sports bar next door. For a non smoker, this is choking off our air supply!

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the front or near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 17205 South 71 Hwy, Belton, MO 64012 (Formerly HI Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Belton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Belton
Comfort Inn Belton
Belton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.