We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
West Bexington | Bridport, West Bexington DT2 9DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bexington
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Good room overlooking the sea was comfortable and fairly spacious. Nice bar and decent beer! Very good food in the restaurant. Will certainly return at some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    40
    10
    11
    11
See reviews for
36
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came to stay for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Lovely location and beautiful building that has been beautifully restored and decorated and peaceful location with picture perfect views from the rooms. Room 3 was really nice, spacious and lovely views, it's an old building so don't book the room if you have a bad back like me as the bed isn't at all level !
I think some more attention to detail is needed, we didn't have any hand towels, not useful for drying hair or hands, we had one water glass between 2, one bottle of water, and one tiny bottle of shower gel for 2 for 2 nights, so bring your own toiletries. It is a pricey hotel so you'd hope for the extra bits most hotels offer.
The food at dinner was extremely good. The service was like something out of Fawlty Towers, with one waitress huffing at every customer. We waited a long long time to order, not even a drink came our way. It's a shame because the food was so nice, but the waitresses were servicing the bar, outside area and restaurant and clearly couldnt cope and were rude about it. We would have ordered a bottle of wine and coffees if someone was there to serve. Sadly chef clearly wasnt around for breakfast as the food was bad, dried scrambled eggs and boiled mushrooms without any seasoning in sight.
To sum up, lovely place, lovely friendly owners, going in the right direction, but attention to detail can make such a difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Manor Hotel is an absolute gem of a hotel. We had been searching for a hotel last minute and thankfully came across The Manor through Tripadvisor, we sent an email and received a response from David very quickly. We were lucky enough to get a room for the following night (last room!) Lots of parking, lovely hotel, exceptionally clean and really nice touches.
We ate dinner there in the evening we both had really good food, lots of which was locally sourced. Room rate included full English breakfast, which was wonderful. We were really sad not to be staying longer, will definitely return again soon. Super location, great views of the sea and only a short walk to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Being a London city guy for the majority of my life, I'm not normally that comfortable with the country-side and its abundance of odd green biomass known as "grass". However, staying at the Manor alleviated any apprehensions I had. I visited the establishment as part of a wedding party and wasn't left disappointed. The staff were peerless (special mention to Jess and Daisy the actor) and were pretty much working from dusk to dawn in looking after us. The Manor itself, as a 16th century building has aged well and has benefited immeasurably from the cash that the owning family has thrown at it. The rooms with their views, warmth and inviting decor are heartily recommended. Lastly, kudos must be given to the decision to use local produce in the food that was served. In closing, The Manor provided a brilliant experience both as a couple and as part of a larger group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My mum chose to get married at this lovely location after having spent much time here over the last year or two. It was a fabulous weekend and all went so smoothly for the wedding...the staff are friendly and attentive, always service with a smile. The location is stunning as it is located along the famous and picturesque Jurassic coast. The hotel rooms are cosy,clean and welcoming and most have lovely views out to see. The food is also worth a big mention here...no matter whether
You are eating breakfast,lunch or dinner...it is a tasty,unique and well prepared menu using locally sourced produce. All in all fab!!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hello

I have visited this hotel on many occasions and have always found the quality of food and service to be very good. I have eaten both bar snacks and sat in their dining room for Christmas meals and found the service to the very good. But I think we all have to understand that at times when places are busy not just this particular hotel things can go astray. I have eaten at 5 star hotels with 3 rosette's and still problems can happen let's remember we are all human.

If there is a problem which I have not encountered myself I am sure things would be put right without a fuss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Having fallen in love with the beautiful surroundings and hotel we were ready to book the hotel exclusively for our wedding next year.

However when asking for finer details before confirming the booking we were made to feel an inconvenience with terrible service and manners from the owners. They were rude and are quite frankly milking the location!

We love the place but would have no confidence in them hosting our special day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliasjones, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I'm sorry we did not reach agreement on your wedding, but you must accept most of the blame for that. You cannot expect a business to be dictated too. After the massive effort and business investment we have put in to the refurbishment of the Manor, it’s now a thriving destination. We are not going to accept a penalty contract based on any future works we may be planning to do. We have held many successful weddings, and provided you with a very competitive package. You may also give some thought as to arranging appointments to discuss future events, rather than just turning up during peak service hours and expect our staff to stop serving current customers, to address your questions. On your wedding day you would be the focus of our attention, but on other days our customers of that day are rightly our focus unless we have arranged an appointment. Your tone in your review is very insulting, (your first review was removed by the site), we trust your tone gives some satisfaction, but we will not lower to that standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: West Bexington | Bridport, West Bexington DT2 9DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Bexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th Century Manor house, under new ownership. Refurbished in 2011/12. New bar and restaurant overlooking Chesil beach. Rooms available on a B&B basis. Restaurant and bar open to all. Free house cellar bar and beer garden. Popuplar with walkers and day visitors to the surronding countryside and Chesil beach. Full menu, plus daily fish specials,for lunch or dinner, baugettes and hot bar meals also available at lunch times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.