We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel...perfect for my mums wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Save Saved
You added The Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor
West Bexington | Bridport, West Bexington DT2 9DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bexington
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel...perfect for my mums wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My mum chose to get married at this lovely location after having spent much time here over the last year or two. It was a fabulous weekend and all went so smoothly for the wedding...the staff are friendly and attentive, always service with a smile. The location is stunning as it is located along the famous and picturesque Jurassic coast. The hotel rooms are cosy,clean and welcoming and most have lovely views out to see. The food is also worth a big mention here...no matter whether
You are eating breakfast,lunch or dinner...it is a tasty,unique and well prepared menu using locally sourced produce. All in all fab!!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    36
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
28
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hello

I have visited this hotel on many occasions and have always found the quality of food and service to be very good. I have eaten both bar snacks and sat in their dining room for Christmas meals and found the service to the very good. But I think we all have to understand that at times when places are busy not just this particular hotel things can go astray. I have eaten at 5 star hotels with 3 rosette's and still problems can happen let's remember we are all human.

If there is a problem which I have not encountered myself I am sure things would be put right without a fuss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Having fallen in love with the beautiful surroundings and hotel we were ready to book the hotel exclusively for our wedding next year.

However when asking for finer details before confirming the booking we were made to feel an inconvenience with terrible service and manners from the owners. They were rude and are quite frankly milking the location!

We love the place but would have no confidence in them hosting our special day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliasjones, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I'm sorry we did not reach agreement on your wedding, but you must accept most of the blame for that. You cannot expect a business to be dictated too. After the massive effort and business investment we have put in to the refurbishment of the Manor, it’s now a thriving destination. We are not going to accept a penalty contract based on any future works we may be planning to do. We have held many successful weddings, and provided you with a very competitive package. You may also give some thought as to arranging appointments to discuss future events, rather than just turning up during peak service hours and expect our staff to stop serving current customers, to address your questions. On your wedding day you would be the focus of our attention, but on other days our customers of that day are rightly our focus unless we have arranged an appointment. Your tone in your review is very insulting, (your first review was removed by the site), we trust your tone gives some satisfaction, but we will not lower to that standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here 7th to 9th June in Room1 with a four poster bed, two winged armchairs and superb views of Chisel Beach and the sea. The bathroom had a corner bath with shower over.
It was perfect for a romantic weekend with peace and tranquility. We woke to the sound of birds and the trees. Traffic noise was none existent and we loved the little touches like the fridge full of milk on the landing.
The breakfast was excellent with very good service. We ate dinner there both nights which were good. Anywhere you sit outside you have a sea ed view. The cellar bar is nice, as are the guest lounges.
The only negative is that the bar is closed between 3pm and 6pm and closes at 9pm. During closed hours you can have tea/coffee in your room or walk 300m down to the beach and the cafe/tearoom.
The nearest pub is a stroll back up to the main road.
The hotel is superbly placed between Abbotsbury and West Bay. There are really good coastal walks in both directions and we found books in the lounge with detailed walks in.
We will be visiting again for sure!

Room Tip: 10 out of 13 rooms have sea views. The website has details and photos of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

just stayed one night with my parents. Rooms are small but cosy. Very clean , very friendly and the food was great . Excellent views from our room and a lovely quiet location. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Manor. Room nice and fresh, bathroom (with bath) nice and clean. Bed was comfortable with fresh linen. The location is very peaceful in a small hamlet, overlooking the sea, which is less than a 10 minute walk away. Only sounds are the birds and the odd horse. Hotel is a work in progress, with the new owners, but main areas are very nice. Food is very good, nicely presented and lots of it. Breakfast set us up nicely for the day. Can recommend the Otter beer in Cellar Bar. All in all a very pleasant stay and good value for the price, Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderfully quiet situation with great views from the room and it's staff very friendly but it lacks care and attention to detail.

First impression was not good as there were still left over lunch dishes on the tables in front of the hotel at 4pm. We went past the grubby looking conservatory into an unmanned reception area which badly needed dusting. We were given a key to the last room available - the four poster with sea view - but no explanation as to where breakfast was served etc

The room was spacious and comfortable but the bathroom was not cleaned after breakfast the next day and clothes taken out of the shelves came out covered with dust

Food was reasonable home cooking but certainly not worth the price tag. Restaurant service was chaotic, confused and understaffed - especially the uninspiring breakfast. We actually arrived for breakfast only 15 minutes after the start but waited so long to be served that they had cleared away the buffet and spray cleaned the table before we had even finished.

This could be a lovely hotel with a little thought - so much promise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliasjones, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Sorry you were dissappointed. Some very cutting remarks here, if only you had seen the place 2 years ago, you would understand the hard work and transformation we have done to preserve this location. The conservatory is being replaced later this year at large expense !. Most people spend the time and interact with us and understand better what we are about. You have to question those who publish 7 reviews in a day, surely there's more to life than just critising others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: West Bexington | Bridport, West Bexington DT2 9DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Bexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th Century Manor house, under new ownership. Refurbished in 2011/12. New bar and restaurant overlooking Chesil beach. Rooms available on a B&B basis. Restaurant and bar open to all. Free house cellar bar and beer garden. Popuplar with walkers and day visitors to the surronding countryside and Chesil beach. Full menu, plus daily fish specials,for lunch or dinner, baugettes and hot bar meals also available at lunch times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.