We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool place on a cold evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Cafe

Beach House Cafe
South Milton Sands, South Milton TQ7 3JY, England
01548 561144
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A cool place on a cold evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been coming to Thurlestone Beach for 20 years and are delighted this shack has updated itself to a full-on, cool eaterie in an amazing location. We came for dinner just before New Year and were impressed by jolly atmosphere, a pair of professional energetic young chefs and amazing, plentiful food - almost too much, actually. My son and I had 'fish goujons' which were more like steaks, my husband raved about his seafood tagliatelle and the brownie we shared was divine. Had such a great meal that we instantly booked breakfast for New Year's Day. An absolute gem on a beautiful coastline.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    61
    23
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

4 of us chanced across this hut and had the seafood platter, it was fantastic, lobster, sea bass, calamari, clams, prawns etc etc etc. the bill with wine and beers and a tip was £120 and worth every penny, great service and a great night as well can't wait to go back, its sad to see they get a bad review over 2 coffee's.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, little ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Some of the nicest seafood I've ever had. Ate a whole crab for the first time with delicious chilli jam. Friend had a great whole plaice, and the scallops with sage and capers to start were incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A rough looking shack on the edge of the sand next to National Trust Car Park. Fresh and beautiful sea food in a rustic but superb setting. Family friendly and still open for the winter. Hard to beat for friendly service, unpretentious but excellent food. Indoor and outdoor seating both full at times for a Saturday lunch on last day of November.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were coming to the end of an 8 mile walk and seeing the Beachhouse thought this would be good for a coffee and cake....BUT when we opened the door and saw so many happy dinners we had to have some of what everyone else was enjoying.
Special of the day; a big bowl of Mussels and a separate bowl of chips ample bread and a large glass of wine all for £10.
I had a platter of mixed breads with Feta cheese, a dish of mixed olives a jug of olive oil, a dish of mixed roasted nuts and spices £5.50
A Milky coffee total bill £17.00
The best slow food we have experienced

Not only was this exceptionally good value but the food was fantastic, the service excellent and the ambiance brilliant.
Thank you Beachhouse

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Thurlestone, Devon
 

Been to Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.