We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eggcellent Brekky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Cafe

Beach House Cafe
South Milton Sands, South Milton TQ7 3JY, England
01548 561144
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Eggcellent Brekky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had breakfast here several times and each time we really enjoyed it. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and accomodating (2 young children and a dog). We'd definately return and would love to try either the lunch or dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    61
    23
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bucks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique quirky place to eat fresh simple food cooked well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our 5th visit for an evening meal at The Beach House and we love the location looking out to sea. we have always found the staff welcoming and very helpful, we love the quirkiness of this place and the food has always been excellent, a very relaxed atmosphere and very casual, we walked from Thurlestone and a torch is a must for walking home in the dark, we have also enjoyed a full English breakfast here in the summer, and tea and cake during the day which was also very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull.UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love it but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visited The Beach House twice in the last week while on holiday. There is no denying that the location is fantastic especially if you get an amazing sunset as we did on both occasions. We booked well in advance for 8 on Saturday night, it's a very small restaurant only 5 trestle tables with benches so it's pretty tight on space and not that comfortable. Dishes ordered were Chilli garlic prawns ( 6.95) very good, moules ( 7.95), bread,olives (5) all starter size, chowder (13.95), cod guojons (13.95) crab salad (16.50)half lobster salad (19.50) I had cod as a main but wasn't that impressed, bit dry and not very fishy. Second visit had Scallops (8.50) lovely and burger (14) not worth it. You can bring your own wine with a corkage of £4.50 a bottle. We received good service and as a large party had a good time.
But I have an issue with giving this restaurant a higher rating as the facilities are very minimal ( shack says it all) the toilets are the municipal ones in a block further up the lane, no lights ( took a torch) no hot water, no hand drying facility. The seating is cramped and uncomfortable. I could accept all this if I thought I was getting a bargain but the prices don't reflect this as this was the most expensive place we ate on this holiday.
It's open for breakfast,lunch and dinner and is worth a visit on a lovely day for the great location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Full English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Terrific Full English breakfast. Loved the cooked in butter tastes and lovely bread and choice of jams and marmalade. Go even if just for toast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good, again...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited recently on warm, sunny October Sunday. Managed a swim from the adjoining beach and was then ready for lunch. Sat outside with wonderful views of beach, Thurlelstone Rock and beyond and enjoyed an excellent moules frite and cold beer. The mussels were fresh and sweet, served with crusty bread and skinny fries - delicious. the whole experience was about as good as it gets. Long live staycations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Thurlestone, Devon
 

Been to Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.