We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor example if Holiday Inn Express” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1190 Hwy. 45 Alt South, West Point, MS 39773 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express West Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Point
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor example if Holiday Inn Express”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Room smelt as if it has not been cleaned in weeks. Musty and damp. Air conditioner was loud, very loud. Bath tub was too dirty as I had to clean it before I took a shower in it and germs and dirt don't bug me. Refrigerator had someones food in it and judging by the mold...It's been there a while.

The whole place should be turned into a pay-per-hour motel because that's the impression I have of this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me start by thanking you for posting your review of our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It sounds like we didn't do a very good job of representing our brand. I assure you all concerns you mentioned have been addressed and if you ever stay at our hotel again, you will be impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a quiet weekend. In the first room the shower curtain rod was partially down so we changed rooms to a "better" room. Staff was very nice about it, and problems do happen, however the second room had a broken bath tub that stuck me in the foot and was "fixed" by having a very thin bath mat placed over the break.

The second room had a couch with tears in the tread bare material and a broken luggage stand.

The only positive was the staff who was nice and apologetic. But clearly management and ownership either doesn't care or won't spend the money needed to fix the property to the level reasonably expected.

Holiday Inn corporate needs to either pressure this place to get itself right or pull the franchise. It is an embarrassment to IHG.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear rocket0455,

Thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel staff helpful. However, it is regretful to learn that our rooms were not at par with your standards. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stay at many Holiday Inn Express locations during my travels and while most of them are consistently well kept, this particular hotel is in need of some renovation work.

The carpet and furniture in the room I stayed in was a bit worn.

On the bright side, the room does have some great amenities like a refrigerator, microwave, and a flat panel TV. There's also room out in the back along a dirt road to park a few tractor-trailers.

I would stay here again but hope there's some updates done on this hotel soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear TXAgitator,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our room’s appearance and truly sorry for you did not find some aspects of our hotel to your liking. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 6 have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 2 years. Perfect stopping point on our way from Missouri to the beach. We found beds and pillows comfortable. Breakfast was filling. There is a train track next door but we have not been woken by the trains. The night clerk was very friendly and welcoming and fixed a slight problem straight away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was hesitant to stay at the HIX because there were no recent reviews. We found the Inn to be acceptable, though in need of some updating. The carpet in the hallway and room felt lumpy when walked on, probably because the pad is worn out. Also, the bathroom is the first one I've been in where the floor did not feel like it was level ~ it seemed to slant. The bed was comfortable, the microwave popcorn in the room was appreciated, and the breakfast was satisfactory. The price was less than some of the hotels in the area. Also, we hadn't noticed the train tracks since we arrived at night and heard a train at 10:30 PM that sounded like it was right next door, and it was! Thankfully, there were no other trains at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear WRJ-MLJ,

We appreciate you leaving a review on your recent stays with us. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any issues you have encountered with the hotel conditions.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We will pass over you comments made to our Maintenance Manager in order to investigate further. We are pleased you did enjoy our comfortable beds. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this place for night only on our way through Mississippi. It was easy to get to. And while West Point is a small community this hotel is close to several stores, small restaurants, etc. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff that we ran into were all very, very nice, friendly and helpful. There was the typical morning breakfast buffet of warm foods (eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes) or the option of cereals, yogurts, fruits, coffee, juices, etc. One should not expect special order meals, but the food was more than sufficient. If I ever pass through this part of Mississippi and need a place to stay I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel for such a small area. Breakfast was good and the service was good as well. If I go back through that town again we would stay there again. We got our room for $77 a night. Down side was no elevator, spoiled!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1190 Hwy. 45 Alt South, West Point, MS 39773 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express West Point)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > West Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn West Point hotel is a two story, interior corridor hotel that features a beautiful lobby and offers 60 guest rooms. The Americas Best Value Inn also features an outdoor pool, free high-speed wireless Internet service in rooms and lobby, 24 hour business center, fitness center, complimentary hot breakfast bar, and coin guest laundry. All 60 elegantly appointed guest rooms feature voice mail, two line phones w/data ports, desk & ergonomic chair, 32' TV, iron, ironing boards, hair dryers, and coffeemakers. In addition, all rooms also have a microwave and mini-refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Point Hotel West Point
Holiday Inn West Point
West Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.