We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limone cafe - Good value and cheerful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maralena's - CLOSED

Maralena's
3 Main Street, Shildon, Bishop Auckland DL4 1AJ, England
01388 773 541
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Co. Durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Limone cafe - Good value and cheerful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A group of six of us booked table for early meal this evening at Limone. We all had the special menu (£6.95 for two courses or £7.50 for three courses) which was excellent value, freshly made and tasty. The young woman who served us was helpful and cheerful. We would recommend tea time meals at Limone. Would be smashing to see this little restaurant full of people enjoying good food in Shildon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
county durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A sad letdown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

First of all, the only reason this gets a two, instead of a one, is that we really would like to see this restaurant get the chance to improve.

Lots of people still know it as Savinos, reputation held together solidly by the welcome and ambience created by Andreas, but he is long gone and it just seems an unloved sad place now. We had the most fantastic small wedding reception here 6 years ago and so we try to go back around our anniversary. We really want to see it succeed but right now would never recommend it.

We visited in September 2012 now that the restaurant is 'under new management'. There were only maybe another four tables with diners, though we didnt see anyone with actual food. There appeared to be one front of house and one waitress. The waitress was friendly and we were quickly seated. Candle at table was not lit.

We asked for wine and water. The wine came quickly, but no water ever appeared. A short while later we received the menu. It was on a large laminated sheet. The menu lacked detail. There were no special boards.

Diners on a table near us looked so bored. An older couple behind us were giving 'constructive feedback' on the quality of the lasagne (who can get a mainstay like lasagne wrong!) to the waitress who clearly didnt really know what to do with the feedback. We had been in the restuarant approximately a half hour with no one coming to take our order. Front of house guy walked past us a few times and picked up the odd empty glass / plate. He also looked like he didnt really know what he was doing and so feeling quite nervous by this point, we decided we would leave. We politely informed the waitress when she did finally arrive that we had changed our minds. She looked unsurprised and did not ask us why we had decided not to stay.

When settling our bill, front of house guy didnt bother asking us why we were leaving either. He did however take a look at our bill realise we were only settling for the wine we had and took back the complimentary mints!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have kept meaning to try this out since it reopened but at last got round to it for a wedding anniversary dinner and were very pleased with our choice.
The emphasis is still on fresh fish and shellfish dishes though meat also features on the menu but we went for (she) the tiger prawns followed by dover sole (with real homemade chips) and (me) scallops/mussels/prawns in a chilli and white wine sauce followed by lobster with more scallops and more tiger prawns. The food was well cooked with just a touch of artistic balsamic vinegar decor round the side of the plate and at just over £30 for the two meals plus a fair priced bottle of Orvieto represented excellent value.
In these hard times this is definitely a go to again restaurant for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“an Oasis of Fresh Food & Great Wine, in a desert of Mediocraty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This great little restaurant, situated in Shildon, County Durham, is in the most unlikely of locations for such a high quality eatery.

Shildon widely known for the drinking high quality beer and consuming fish & chips on an industrial scale, hosts what has to be one of the best restaurants within a 20 mile radius.

The produce is always fresh on the day, none of the "National Chain get it out of the freezer and Microwave IT slap it on a plate and that be with fires sir operations"!!!!

We are talking super fresh, unbelievably superb vale for money, their Al La Carte fixed price two course/Three course meals are without doubt the best value for money for literally miles around.

Family run restaurant, family atmosphere, a tradition started by their Father Andreas, and continued with the same zest, enthusiasm, attention to detail and ambience that makes it a really good place to go.

Even during the week, the meal deals are exceptional, the servings are high quality and good quantity as well.

It is amazing that one can go just down the road pay a lot more money for some microwaved 'mank' that was cooked goodness knows where served by staff who really don't give a monkeys, yet here at Maralena's, fresh on the day, cooked after you order it, and its a real bargain.

It can unreservedly recommend this restaurant to anyone, and they do chips, proper chips, not fries, not frozen.

Lets face it how hard is to peel a potato, and to prepare fresh veggies.

This little restaurant, is just great, and try the house plonk, absolutely delicious, wine selection is pretty good as well.

AND.....

if you eat all your food up and have a clean plate, free shot of lemon-chello, how good can it get!!!!!

Have yourself a mid week treat, call in its worth the effort.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went to the Dinner with the Mob evening. A lot of effort had gone into decorating the restaurant and it looked brilliant.

The service was a bit slow but the food was more than worth the wait. Very good quality, great taste and lovely flavours that really worked together.

I would recommend visiting we certainly will be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maralena's also viewed

Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maralena's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.