We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out and entry is free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon

Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon
Locomotion Shildon, Shildon, Bishop Auckland DL4 1PQ, England
01388 777999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Shildon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good day out and entry is free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went to the steam event on 22nd sept. It is a very large site getting from end to the other was by one of the engines in steam in one the the brake vans. (fee payable) Lots of things to see from old buildings to engines and carriages in the national collection

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    81
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ideal for a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although not as big as NRM at York, there are exhibits you may not have seen at York and it's all under one roof, including a good shop and a café. The building itself is a good modern example of industrial construction but is rather incongruous in uninspiring surroundings. Best of all, it's free (donations welcome!)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We only knew of the existence of this great museum through the railway press and decided to visit on our way North on holiday. As we approached from the car park we were greeted by the stunning sight of a streamlined LMS locomotive - Duchess of Hamilton- gleaming red and gold in the autumn sunshine.
This virtually brand new outpost of the better-known National Railway Musem at York is tucked away in the village of Shildon, County Durham. It is built on the site of the old railway yard and has free admission with a suggested donation of £3.
It is very spacious and has a good selection of locomotives and carriages including a Royal Train. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a well stocked shop selling all kinds of railway related products.
Unfortunately, we did not have time to sample the café, which looked busy, or the train rides but we will return soon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day for train lovers old and young”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lots of different trains of varying styles to see. My son is an avid train fan and loved standing on the footplate of the Duchess of Hamilton (his favourite train). Nice park outdoors for kids when you need a break from the smell of diesel. Just a good size for walking around and everything very accessible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for a couple of hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited August 2013. We visited here after going to the York centre. This is quite a lot smaller and does not have so many things you could interact with as you would expect. Nothing much for children but there is a play park close by with swings and slides and there is a picnic area. There is a cafe but we visited at about 1430 and there was not much of a selection. There is a steam train you can ride on but when we visited it had been hired by a private party.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 

Been to Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locomotion: The National Railway Museum at Shildon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.