We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resturant in the Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Countryman Inn

The Countryman Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Countryman Inn to your Saves list
The Countryman Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Langdon Cross, Langdon, Launceston PL15 8NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Langdon B&B and Inns
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Resturant in the Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went for lunch and stayed the night. Excellent lunch and extremely large,food well prepared and presented.Room was large and clean and well appointed. Breakfast was typical English and very nice. Spacious car park and play area for children

Room Tip: Go for room one large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lovely pub, good pub grub and very good value for money! Booked a table for 15 of us at 7pm and despite numerous reviews complaining how the pubs food timing is awful, we all had our food served together 30 minutes later. It was very nicely presented, tasted good and was good, decent sized portions.
I would definitely recommend this pub. Service was good and very friendly. Can't really fault it at all!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Havnt been here in a long while, and couldnt believe how tired it was. Shame the food used to be very good and the pub was always busy, maybe it was because it was between Christmas and New Year, but the old place really did look like it needed some TLC, the toilets were not pleasant, dont think we will be rushing back :(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A simple double room with en suite. Comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. The furniture is a little tired but functional plus tea & coffee making facility and adequate TV. A good choice of beers at the bar with a good selection of meals on the menu and specials board, all well cooked and reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast and all locally produced ingredients where possible.
This Inn is under relatively new management and whilst my room was a little tired, I couldn't fault their enthusiasm in delivering excellent hospitality. suited my needs for a 3 night stay and I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A charming Thatched Inn which met all of our expectations. The room was characterful and cosy, the food excellent ( we had their Sausages & Mash with Onion Gravy for tea ). It really hit the mark ! The Full English Breakfast was superb, and the Landlord / Landlady and Staff were very friendly. We would heartily recommend the Counrtyman, but do remember, it is a Pub / Restaurant, so there is a little background noise at around 11 ish - but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although we were the only guests, there was a packed restaurant in the evening. We had top rate service and the best quality meal. A comfortable night's sleep in a very nice room. We would certainly recommend The Countryman and will return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wedding anniversary evening meal .
We found the meal to be really good both in quality and taste. We do not eat out all that often but this was a very pleasant evening for us. Our thanks to the chef and the waiters for the special attention we received .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Inn

Address: Langdon Cross, Langdon, Launceston PL15 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Langdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Langdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Countryman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.